• Books & Biceps
  • Posts
  • 9x New York Times Bestselling Author Endorses Finkel's 1996 Book

9x New York Times Bestselling Author Endorses Finkel's 1996 Book

Writing books is cool. Getting endorsements from authors you admire is super cool.

Normally ‘Books & Biceps’ is about other people’s books, but when I have news about my own books and when we get close to release dates, as we are now for my book, 1996: A Biography - Reliving the Legend-Packed, Dynasty-Stacked, Most Iconic Sports Year Ever, I like to share awesome news with you all first.

I have two major book endorsements that I’d like to share. I’m going to share one today and one next Tuesday. Today’s endorsement is from a guy whose writing I’ve read since high school. If you were a longtime reader of Sports Illustrated, then you have definitely read Jeff Pearlman’s work in the legendary magazine.

If you love sports books, as I do, then you have also likely read several of Pearlman’s New York Times bestsellers, including my personal favorites, Gunslinger (biography of Brett Favre), Football for a Buck (about the USFL), Sweetness (biography of Walter Payton) and his most recent book, Three Ring Circus (about the Shaq & Kobe Lakers). Jeff is at the top of the sportswriting profession and our paths have crossed a few times over the years.

When I wrapped up ‘1996’, I reached out to see if he’d be interested in looking at it and writing a blurb for it. He is neck-deep in his upcoming biography of Bo Jackson (which is like the mother of all bios) but he made the time and I’m happy to say, really dug what I was after with this project. Below is Pearlman’s official book endorsement, which I hope you enjoy…. and please PRE-ORDER THE BOOK NOW it’s the perfect gift for yourself or the ‘96er in your life (AKA, a phenomenal Father’s Day gift!).

Reply

or to participate.