šŸ’ŖBooks & Biceps

Boxing and Philosophy, the 1st Woman to Swim the English Channel, Mobility and Flexibility

Welcome to this weekā€™s Books & Biceps! Letā€™s dominate today!

BOOKS

I bought this book a long time ago because as a swimmer Iā€™m a sucker for books on or about swimmingā€¦but also because the feat described in this book seems impossible. Long before any semblance of modern digital technology and athletic training, preparation, recovery and apparel, a 5ā€™5ā€, 21-year-old woman, Trudy Ederle, became the first female to swim across the English Channel. The Channel, if you didnā€™t know, is just about the most treacherous stretch of water in the northern hemisphere to cross without a boat. Itā€™s about 23 miles wide, the water temperature is in the high 50s if youā€™re lucky, the swells are impossible, the currents are brutal, the wind is pounding and if thatā€™s not all, youā€™ve got to take an s-shaped route just to make the passage. The story of how Ederle, a three-time swimming medalist in the 1924 Paris, France Olympics, prepared for and took on the channel is nothing short of remarkable. And the research by Stout is impeccable. Read it here.

ARTICLES

Ed Latimore is a former heavyweight professional boxer (13-1-1) who also happens to be a competitive chess player, author and modern philosopher. Iā€™ve been a fan of Edā€™s and read his newsletter for years now. Heā€™s a unique thinker and I love how he turns his life experience into clever takes on every day issues we all face. His blog post this week really resonated with me. Especially this one line, ā€œTo become a better fighter, you have to fight better people.ā€ Obviously this holds true for boxing, but itā€™s actually a mantra that works in whatever field youā€™re in. If you donā€™t keep pushing yourself and elevating yourself to the competition, youā€™ll never get anywhere. Give this piece a read and then sign up to get his posts, you wonā€™t regret it. Check it out.

FITNESS

Hereā€™s some good news. I hit my strength goals for the last twelve months, even doing something I hadnā€™t done since college, which is bench 305 (you can watch here if youā€™re interested). The bad news is my mobility sucks beyond belief and the older I get, the more Iā€™m noticing it. Small tweaks and creaks and twinges all over the place when I get up quick or wrestle with my son or do anything, really. So Iā€™ve decided to commit to working on my mobility. Iā€™m experimenting with a few short routines to try once or twice a week to start and Iā€™ll let you know which ones work. So far, this one seems to work for my beginner-level mobilityā€¦and by ā€˜workā€™ I mean has made me realize Iā€™m about as flexible as beat-up aluminum ladder right now. Give it a shot or if you have a routine you like, please share it with me and Iā€™ll pass it on.

Kick-Ass Quote of the Week

ā€œFlexibility is the key to stability.ā€ - John Wooden

Have you read a book or an article that you think our fellow Books & Biceps readers would like? Want to share your favorite workout song?

Reply to this e-mail and Iā€™ll share it next week.

If someone forwarded you this e-mail, you can subscribe right here.

You can also share this e-mail with someone who you think would like to sign up.

PS - Have you pre-ordered my book, ā€˜1996ā€™ yet?

It comes out May 11th and I cannot wait to share a few of the legendary writers who have endorsed it. I mean, these are some of my all-time favorites. Lots of giveaways coming up so keep your screenshot when you get it.

And lastlyā€¦

Reply

or to participate.