đź’ŞBooks & Biceps 297

My OG favorite author, Robert B. Parker, James Harrison's 135lb one-arm lift, Russ Bengston Author Q&A and...

Welcome! You are reading Books & Biceps #297.

If an awesome B&B reader shared this with you, add your e-mail with the subscribe button below:

If you’re a new subscriber or missed my yearly book round-up, The 15 Most Memorable Books I Read in 2023, you can read it here. And don’t miss the New Yorker Profile on our Books & Biceps crew.

REMINDER:

IF YOU BOUGHT MACHO MAN: Please leave a 5-star review wherever you bought it!

Takes 60 seconds and it matters! Or grab your copy now for 10% OFF:

This issue of Books & Biceps is brought to you by:

I know squats, not stocks. I know the QB option, not trading options. I could make more bad analogies, but I won’t. What I will do is share the link to the Bullseye Trades email written every week by world-famous 20-year trading veteran Jeff Bishop. If you’re into getting daily hot stock ideas and learning options trading strategies, this email is for you. Subscribe here.

BOOKS

Mortal Stakes by Robert B. Parker

Let me tell you a quick story about how my grandfather helped me fall in love with reading by introducing me to the wise-cracking, ass-kicking Boston detective, Spenser:

I’m visiting my grandparents in Florida in 8th grade and I’m talking to my grandfather (Papa) about books and what I like to read.

He tells me that his favorite author writes these stories about a detective in Boston who loves the Red Sox, lifts weights, boxes, has a tough guy partner named Hawk and who solves mysteries while never backing down from a fight.

Now, if you’re a thirteen or fourteen year old teen dude, is there a better pitch for a book? That description reads like an action movie!

So he goes to his bedroom, comes back and hands me this book, Mortal Stakes. It’s the third book in the Spenser series (there are 50 or so now) and it’s about a star Red Sox pitcher who the team believes may be on the hook to a gambler and is throwing games… But of course, there’s much more to the story than gambling: murder, blackmail, etc… And Spenser is on the case.

I dive in that night and read half the book. I vividly remember reading this section and thinking it was the way that I wanted to start my day when I grew up:

“I got up and jogged along the river for ten minutes to the Boston University gym… I knew a guy in the athletic department and they let me use the weight room. I spent 45 minutes on the irons and another half hour on the heavy bag. By that time some coeds were passing by on their way to class and I finished with a big flourish on the speed bag. They didn’t seem impressed… I jogged back down river and was back in my apartment at five of nine.”

Two things: 1) To my 8th grade self, this was the coolest way a guy could start the day. 2) This is still the coolest way to start the day.

The book was written and published in 1975, so the dialogue and lack of technology and overall vibe are from a different era. The pop culture references are also five decades old so some won’t make sense…

AND YET, the storytelling is great. The plot moves fast. The characters are original and cool. And Spenser is a fun guy to follow.

Now, back to my grandfather… After that particular visit we flew home to Massachusetts and I went about my life. About a week later, a shoebox arrived in the mail addressed to me. Inside was about a dozen mass market Robert B. Parker Spenser novels from Papa. It blew me away.

It was such a perfect, thoughtful gift and I read them all over the course of the next few months… And I kept reading them all my life.

When I recently came across this old school copy of Mortal Stakes I had to buy it and reread it… for me… and for my grandfather who passed away a few years ago.

It was just as good as I remembered. If you feel like getting into a new detective series for $7.99 a pop (mass market) give my Papa’s favorite detective a shot here.

BICEPS

If you remember one thing about James Harrison’s time in the NFL beyond his monster hits, Super Bowls and 5 Pro Bowl selections, it’s that he was an absolute beast with arms the size of baby seals.

Since his retirement, he regularly posts workout videos lifting absurd amounts of weight. One of his favorite exercises is a variation of shoulder presses, but instead of using dumbbells for single arm presses he uses barbells with heavy plates on each end:

Here he is banging out sets of 135, which is impressive as hell. I first saw him post about this exercise a while back and I loved it. Now I include them every single shoulder day…

They’re great because you have to balance the weight, which works your entire shoulder and activates all the support muscles around them, even your core.

You won’t be able to lift the same weight as with dumbbells, so start with the bar and try to bang out as many reps as you can, then add five pounds to each side to see where you’re at. I promise, you’ll love these (and you’ll see results in strength and size).

QUICK FLEXES

With the start of the NBA playoffs upon us, I wanted to share my Q&A with author Russ Bengtson and his book, A History of Basketball in 15 Sneakers. This book came out last fall and every hoops fan who I’ve recommended it to loves it. We talk Chuck Taylor’s, Vince Carter, Dee Brown, Clyde Frazier, Pumas, Jordans, And1 and more. You’ll love this:

I did a Reddit AMA on Thursday as my Macho Man book promotion continues. Answered over 100 questions in 90 minutes! Dig it!

This was a lot of fun (and a lot of typing) and we got some great questions. If you want to read them or sift through the Q&A you can do so here.

REMEMBER: If you buy Macho Man today, I will PERSONALLY send you a signed book plate and sweet hologram sticker of the cover. Just reply to this email with a screen shot of your order and type in your full address. Thanks!

How to Honor Our Meathead Agreement

In the gym there is an unspoken agreement that if a fellow dude needs a spot you jump in and help, one meathead to another.

If you enjoy reading this newsletter every week, let’s spot each other.

Let’s consider my writing and sending each issue of Books & Biceps my spotting you the best books, interviews and meathead content around.

Your spot to me is that you share this issue with ONE person who you think would like it.

That’s the deal. I spot you. You spot me. Just like the gym. Thanks!

Here’s your personal sharing link to get free stuff for every share:

1) Running sucks! But I make myself do it.

Lately, I’ve become interested in learning about the mechanics of running, prepping for races and more. This newsletter, The Rundown shares unique stories as well as stretches, nutrition tips and even cool upcoming races you might be interested in. You can join here.

2) Do you run a start-up? Have you ever wondered what tools and tactics the best founders use? This newsletter, Big Desk Energy, gives you deep insight into the ins, outs, dos, don’ts and definitely don’ts when it comes to starting a company - all with a little humor involved. Check it out.

3) Readers always ask me what supplements I take or what pre-workouts and protein powder I use. I’ve been using the same brand since they launched about a decade ago: Jym Supplements. I’ve known the owner and founder for fifteen years and it’s the best tasting, highest quality stuff around. Try my favorite pre-workout (Blue Arctic Freeze) and protein powder (S’mores) here.

Thank you all for reading and have a phenomenal weekend!

BONUS: Have you grabbed your Books & Biceps shirt yet? Check out this shirt and more at our OFFICIAL FLEX FACTORY SHOP!

You know that favorite tee you used to have? The one that's faded and comfy and that you could live in? This is that shirt! It shows that you're a fashion icon. A book lover. A gym rat. An absolute stud. Plus, we faded it and made it comfy for you... so you can actually live in it like people do in apocalypse movies. While flexing, of course.

BONUS 2: Have you read these greatest hits?

1) This feature has been read by more than 10 MILLION PEOPLE:

2) This breakdown of iconic author Lee Child’s success was read by over 4 MILLION:

PPS: You still reading Gus and Mallory? Thanks for getting through the whole thing! No skimming!

Join the conversation

or to participate.