đŸ’ȘBooks & Biceps 298

Hagler vs. Hearns Book, VIDEO: Friday Night Lights Origin Story, 5k Victory and Idiocy

Welcome! You are reading Books & Biceps #298.

If an awesome B&B reader shared this with you, add your e-mail with the subscribe button below:

If you’re a new subscriber or missed my yearly book round-up, The 15 Most Memorable Books I Read in 2023, you can read it here. And don’t miss the New Yorker Profile on our Books & Biceps crew.

IF YOU BOUGHT MACHO MAN: I’d be grateful if you could leave a 5-star review wherever you bought it!

Takes 60 seconds and it matters! Or grab your copy now for 10% OFF:

This issue of Books & Biceps is brought to you by:

I know squats, not stocks. I know the QB option, not trading options. I could make more bad analogies, but I won’t. What I will do is share the link to the Bullseye Trades email written every week by world-famous 20-year trading veteran Jeff Bishop. If you’re into getting daily hot stock ideas and learning options trading strategies, this email is for you. Subscribe here.

BOOKS

Depending on which boxing aficionado you talk to, the “Marvelous” Marvin Hagler vs. Tommy Hearns fight that took place on April 15th, 1985 featured either the “Greatest Round in the History of Boxing” or the “The Greatest 3 Rounds in the History of Boxing” or both.

Are these declarations hyperbole? Maybe
 Maybe not
 But one thing is undeniable: You can’t have a conversation about the most exciting, punch-packed, audience-jacked rounds in boxing’s long legacy without bringing up these two fighters.

Hagler always felt like a smaller, more deadly version of Bald Bull from Nintendo’s ‘Mike Tyson’s Punch Out’ to me and since he was the pride of Brockton, Mass, I grew up rooting for him.

Admittedly, I was really young when this fight took place and was only 9 when he lost his final fight to Sugar Ray Leonard, BUT, this Hagler-Hearns fight has only grown in stature through the years. It seems like every month someone on Twitter is posting the legendary third round and next thing you know, it’s got millions of views for the millionth time.

The video of the full 1st round on YouTube has 10 MILLION VIEWS and you can watch it here.

And yet, the fight itself changed venues several times, changed distribution several times, was canceled and rescheduled twice, involved several lawsuits and was almost sabotaged by Don King. The purse bounced around from $5 million to $4 million to $3 million and back up. Meanwhile, Hearns had his sights on Hagler but Hagler had his sights on Sugar Ray Leonard


Until, finally, the fight came together and became a milestone moment in each of their careers. This whole saga has always fascinated me and thankfully, Don Stradley tackled the topic in his book, The War. If you’re into boxing and great sportswriting, you will 100% love reading this. Bonus points if you lived through the 70s, 80s and 90s boxing scene. Check it out here.

BICEPS

At the end of last year, I committed to entering at least one event each month for 2024. Could be a 5K, an ocean swim, a triathlon
 anything to compete and help me stay motivated to train.

One of my tricks to make sure I made good on my commitment was to schedule as many of these events in advance so they were already on the calendar for me. This way, I wouldn’t bail last minute.

Great plan, right? In theory. The only flaw is, well, me.

I put these races on the calendar so long ago I didn’t bother to double check them, which led to this photo:

This is the smile of a moron


A moron who showed up at 7AM to a park to run a 5K on the wrong day at the wrong time
 BUT
 Incredibly there was another charity 5K race at the same park.

So I registered 15 minutes before the start & took 2nd in the 45+ age group. Ha!

Yes, that happened, which meant two things: 1) I’m a moron. 2) I had a race to run the very next weekend that I’d already signed up for.

The good news is that I ran my fastest 5k ever in the second race, breaking 25 minutes for the first time and I’ve now done 6 events in 2024, so I’m one ahead if I can’t make one later in the year.

My training plan for 5Ks is simple: Run a 5k hard on Sundays
 Run 2-Miles easy on Wednesdays
 Play hoops on Friday.

There you go, the 5K training routine of champions!

QUICK FLEXES

One of my favorite sports books of all time is Buzz Bissinger’s Friday Night Lights and one of my favorite football movies of all time is Friday Night Lights and one of my favorite TV shows of all time is
 you guessed it
 Friday Night Lights.

And while the movie is based on the book and the TV show is a completely new creative take on the book, all three standalone as masterpieces, in my opinion. And thanks to my dad sharing this excerpt from Julian Edelman’s “Games With Names” podcast, I learned that the entire FNL empire might not have happened if not for one man. This is a great short story (way to look out for the B&B crew Big H):

If you didn’t see this incredible video about a hero beekeeper dad at an MLB game, you’ll want to watch it right now:

NEW MACHO SWAG!: If you buy my Macho Man biography today, I will PERSONALLY send you one of these brand new Macho Man bookmarks signed! Just reply to this email with a screen shot of your order and type in your full address. Thanks!

How to Honor Our Meathead Agreement

In the gym there is an unspoken agreement that if a fellow dude needs a spot you jump in and help, one meathead to another.

If you enjoy reading this newsletter every week, let’s spot each other.

Let’s consider my writing and sending each issue of Books & Biceps my spotting you the best books, interviews and meathead content around.

Your spot to me is that you share this issue with ONE person who you think would like it.

That’s the deal. I spot you. You spot me. Just like the gym. Thanks!

Here’s your personal sharing link to get free stuff for every share:

1) Running sucks! But I make myself do it.

Lately, I’ve become interested in learning about the mechanics of running, prepping for races and more. This newsletter, The Rundown shares unique stories as well as stretches, nutrition tips and even cool upcoming races you might be interested in. You can join here.

2) Do you run a start-up? Have you ever wondered what tools and tactics the best founders use? This newsletter, Big Desk Energy, gives you deep insight into the ins, outs, dos, don’ts and definitely don’ts when it comes to starting a company - all with a little humor involved. Check it out.

3) Readers always ask me what supplements I take or what pre-workouts and protein powder I use. I’ve been using the same brand since they launched about a decade ago: Jym Supplements. I’ve known the owner and founder for fifteen years and it’s the best tasting, highest quality stuff around. Try my favorite pre-workout (Blue Arctic Freeze) and protein powder (S’mores) here.

Thank you all for reading and have a phenomenal weekend!

BONUS: Have you grabbed your Books & Biceps shirt yet? Check out this shirt and more at our OFFICIAL FLEX FACTORY SHOP!

You know that favorite tee you used to have? The one that's faded and comfy and that you could live in? This is that shirt! It shows that you're a fashion icon. A book lover. A gym rat. An absolute stud. Plus, we faded it and made it comfy for you... so you can actually live in it like people do in apocalypse movies. While flexing, of course.

BONUS 2: Have you read these greatest hits?

1) This feature has been read by more than 10 MILLION PEOPLE:

2) This breakdown of iconic author Lee Child’s success was read by over 4 MILLION:

PPS: You still reading Gus and Mallory? Thanks for getting through the whole thing! No skimming!

How strong was this issue of Books & Biceps?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.