šŸ’ŖBooks & Biceps Issue 192 - October 8, 2021

Sandy Koufax and Your 5-Minute Brain & Body Flex

Books & Biceps is the only weekly e-mail that combines reading recommendations, bestselling author interviews, legit workouts and powerful quotes.

Join thousands of us by clicking ā€˜subscribeā€™ below:

BOOKS

While the Red Sox were embarrassing the Yankees on Sunday night I got a text from an old friend who simply asked, ā€œWhatā€™s the best baseball biography?ā€.

Instantly, one book popped into my head and I started to text backā€¦but then I stoppedā€¦ Was this really the best? Ever? Iā€™ve read hundreds of sports biographies and dozens of baseball biographies and the usual roster of books that top these lists ran through my mind: Clemente by David Maraniss, Joe DiMaggio by Richard Ben Creamer, The Last Hero: A Life of Henry Aaron by Howard Bryant, Ted Williams by Leigh Montville, about three Jackie Robinson biosā€¦ and there were plenty of others bouncing around my headā€¦ But in the end, yeahā€¦ Sandy Koufax by Jane Leavy is, to me, the best baseball biography.

Youā€™ve got an iconic, mysterious, all-time great athlete in Koufax on an iconic, all-time great team, the late 50s/early 60s Dodgers. Youā€™ve got the social implications of Major League Baseball integrating and Koufax dealing with anti-semitism and players getting screwed over by ownership. And then, in a stroke of genius, Leavy tells the entire Koufax saga against the backdrop of his otherworldly perfect game on September 9th, 1965, bouncing between biography and epic performance.

Also, Leavy is a hall of fame storyteller. So yeah, if you text me at the start of the baseball playoffs and ask me what I think the best baseball biography isā€¦ my answer is going to be Sandy Koufax: A Leftyā€™s Legacy. Buy it here.

BICEPS

Here is a workout anyone can do at any time. All you need is a decent-sized street or a field. I did a short version of this workout Thursday morning as a warm-up but if you increase the sets like I did below itā€™d be awesome. Iā€™m going to try it next week.

I call it the ā€˜Pump & Runā€™.

5 push-ups

50 yard sprint

5x

10 push-ups

100 yard sprint

5x

20 push-ups

200 yard sprint

5x

TOTAL: 175 push-ups & 1,750 yards

QUOTE OF THE WEEK

ā€œIn the end it all comes down to talent. Can nice guys win? Sure, nice guys can win - if they're nice guys with a lot of talent. Nice guys with a little talent finish fourth and nice guys with no talent finish last." - Sandy Koufax

QUICK FLEXES

I put together a few of my favorite quotes from Good Will Hunting and other dudes sent in their favorites on twitter here. And I revisited a cool book signing I did for Life of Dad at Barnes & Noble on Instagram here. 

You also might enjoy this thread on James Breakwell, the man who turned 20,000 tweets, 4 daughters and a drove of pigs into a publishing empire.

A FAVORā€¦

If you love Books & Biceps and read it most weeks, would you do me a favor and share this with someone who you know would love it (everyone):

Or send them right to the subscribe page with this button (or if you havenā€™t subscribed yet, you can do that too!:

Thank you so much!

FOLLOW ME ON Twitter here.

And if youā€™re looking for a great book to read, Iā€™ve written a bunch! Grab one here.

Reply

or to participate.