đź’ŞBooks & Biceps - Issue 273

5,000 Readers - Plus: Ted Williams, John Glenn, The Knee-Fixing Workout and more...

You are reading Books & Biceps #273!

Welcome to the 191 new sophisticated meatheads joining us this week and I’m proud to say you have arrived in a moment of greatness…

Our Books & Biceps crew is now 5,000+ readers strong!

I remember when I sent the first issue a few years ago. The newsletter was called “Finkel’s Fast Five” back then… probably because only 5 people read it.

But we’re growing so fast now - all because of you. Word of mouth. Referrals. Sharing. Every single time you forward this e-mail to someone it helps. Thanks to all of you. You’re awesome…

To celebrate, I’ll send an exclusive Books & Biceps sticker to the first 50 people who reply to this e-mail. Just hit me with your address and its yours. Then share a photo of the sticker on your laptop, squat rack, phone case or anywhere else and I’ll share it here in the next few weeks.

Now on to 10,000!

Also, if this is your first issue, add your e-mail with the subscribe button below to join us:

BOOKS

If books about war are the ultimate dad books… and books about baseball are the ultimate dad books… then a book about war and fighter pilots and baseball featuring the first American to orbit the earth and the last baseball player to hit above .400 might make an entire generation of dude’s heads explode.

And if that wasn’t enough dad book bona fides, this particular book, The Wingmen, was blurbed by both Bob Costas and Tom Brokaw. If you’re a dad over 55 you probably passed out with excitement, hahahaha…

As for me, I grew up in Boston and devoured Leigh Montville’s Ted Williams biography (Ted Williams: The Biography of an American Hero) and the classic magazine feature “Hub Fans Bid Kid Adieu” by John Updike.

I’ve read a bunch of books about the early days of the space program and the Mercury missions and John Glenn’s career. He was a remarkable man.

Both Williams and Glenn have long fascinated me… and yet... I didn’t know they knew each other, I didn’t know they were good pals, and I definitely didn’t know they flew dozens of missions together during the Korean War, with the Splendid Splinter acting as Glenn’s wingman. Crazy.

I just discovered Lazarus’s book this week and ordered it ASAP.

Kind of an irresistible mix of old school cool. Get it here.

BICEPS

A few weeks ago I completed my first triathlon, which you can read about here. Because of the way the calendar lined up, my son and I completed a 5k the following week to raise money for his school.

On the way home, he joked that I should find a 5k the next weekend to keep my streak of getting medals alive… And it just so happened that our town’s 5k was last weekend. So I had to enter. And I won the overall 40+. This was not exactly an Olympic-level field, but I’ll take it.

Look, I only run one 5k a week. I just happen to win medals when I do (cue mic drop).

Since I have been running more, I’ve been looking for routines and exercises to strengthen my legs and help me recover/prevent injury.

I recently found this dude, Ben Patrick, better known for his social handle, KneesOverToesGuy, and he’s amazing. He is a huge proponent of walking backwards and on an incline to build knee, leg, foot and calf power. And also to injury-proof your knees.

Sounds odd, right? Watch this video, the 10 Benefits of Walking Backwards, and you’ll flip real quick. Everything he says makes sense and is backed by athletes and science. I’m starting to find time to do a little backwards walking this week. Let me know if you try it, too.

Quick Flexes

Here’s my column from this week about the time I ghostwrote a book with one of the richest men on South Beach:

Did you know I wrote the only book that researched, reviewed and ranked every single United States President?

It’s called Jocks In Chief and it was endorsed by The New York Post, CBS: This Morning and Muscle & Fitness.

"Presidents aren't just the commander in chief - they're also athlete in chief... The Oval Office has a long history of being occupied by athletes. These sweaty pursuits are detailed in Jocks in Chief." - The New York Post

Strong Links:

I eat healthy 80% to 90% of the time. Lean protein. Tons of fruits and vegetables. Protein shakes. All of it…

HOWEVER… when I’m not on that clean eating train, I jump the tracks and once or twice a month crush some fast food.

Some times we go old school Mickey D’s. Other times I’ll get 7 items at Taco Bell. All depends what I’m in the mood for… And what deals are out there.

Incredibly, there’s a newsletter dedicated completely and totally to helping you find fast food deals, secret menu items, off menu items and more. It’s called The Fast Food Secrets Club. Curious? Sign up right here:

Sponsored
Fast Food ClubThe Official Fast Food Club. Get access to the world's largest group for fast food secrets, news, tips, menu hacks, and secret recipes. Once you subscribe you'll become a member.

Are you an AUDIO BOOK fan? 

I’ve long resisted, but recently become a fan and have one or two going right now… I like them for fiction and have been listening to them in place of podcasts during drives…

A nice way to “read” a few more books a year.

If you love audiobooks or are thinking of joining Audible, use this link below and support Books & Biceps:

Help Us Reach 10,000 Readers & Get Free Stuff!

Share this issue with ONE friend and you get 2 FREE E-BOOKS:

1) 8 Biographies of Legends (That You Likely Haven’t Read)

2) How to Read a New Book Every 10 Days Like Bruce Lee

Just share this link below and check your inbox!

Thank you all for reading.

Have a great weekend! - Jon

PS: I’m gathering testimonials for this newsletter as we grow. If you have one minute, please reply with one or two sentences describing the best book, workout or thing you learned from the newsletter.

Thanks!

Reply

or to participate.