• Books & Biceps
  • Posts
  • 💪FINKEL EXCLUSIVE: Ace Ventura's Sean Young on Ray Finkle, More Cowbell's Real Genius, a Candlepin Bowling novel & more...

💪FINKEL EXCLUSIVE: Ace Ventura's Sean Young on Ray Finkle, More Cowbell's Real Genius, a Candlepin Bowling novel & more...

ISSUE #66 - May 3rd, 2019

ONE

SPECIAL FEATURE: FINKEL DE MAYO - Longtime FF5 readers will be familiar with the holiday I invented to celebrate Finkels worldwide on the 5th of May called Finkel de Mayo. For my new readers, each year around this time I interview famous Finkels (there's more than you think), from NY Times bestselling authors to Magic: The Gathering legends to...  ...This year's interview, which I can honestly say I've waited about 25 years to do. If you loved Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (and who didn't?) and you loved Jim Carrey and Ray Finkle/Lois Einhorn and you appreciate the place Finkle/Einhorn holds not only in pop culture but in the Finkel family, then without further adieu, please enjoy my exclusive feature with the actress behind Ray Finkle him/herself, the co-star of Ace Ventura, Sean Young.

TWO

 COMEDY - All it took was for one person to say they thought the famous SNL "More Cowbell" skit with Will Ferrell and Christopher Walken was "jokeless" and film critic William Bibbiani went to work.  In the following Twitter thread, Bibbiani dissects the intricate levels of "More Cowbell" perhaps deeper than any other human has ever ventured into a joke... You almost need a submarine for how deep this dive is... But I admit... It's kind of worth it because when you come out the other side you realize that "More Cowbell" was actually "More Genius" on more levels than you can possible fathom. A very cool thread right here.

THREE

ENERGY - I was offered a free sample of a new energy drink this week and of course I couldn't resist... Actually, I was told it's not to be called an "energy drink". It is supposed to be called "Total Body Fuel".  When it comes to these things, I know I should say 'no', but the meathead in me will not allow it sometimes. In this case, it wasn't just that this drink, called Reign, was supposed to give you a boost, but it also had some things in it that I like... namely BCAAs, CoQ10 and electrolytes... Only problem for me was the 300mg of caffeine. I have dialed my caffeine intake way down, so I only had about 1/3 of the can and my eyeballs still buzzed for an hour. I probably won't buy it for that reason...but for people who love these things (and tons of caffeine) I thought I'd pass it along. Check it out here.

FOUR

BOOKS - I was recently reading an article about author Elizabeth McCracken and her new book Bowlaway that centers around a Massachusetts Candlepin bowling alley and, well, yeah... that sounded awesome.  I just bought the book and the more I've read about it the more excited I am to dive into it. The book reminded me of how odd and fun candlepin bowling was (it was popular growing up outside of Boston) and evidently I'm verrrrry late to the party regarding the project. It is a National Bestseller and has made a ton of recommended reading lists. You can learn more about it here. 

FIVE

A TREMENDOUS QUOTE ABOUT BASEBALL:  “Baseball can be like a bag of Goldfish, where the first bite tastes like a salty-umami wonderland, and the 34th bite tastes like a pair of boxer shorts made out of sodium and despair." - The Athletic   (NOTE: I took a screen shot of this quote on my phone inside The Athletic app and cut off the writer's byline and now I can't find who wrote it. It's funny and brilliant and I feel terrible, but I wanted to pass it along. It's a writer you'd recognize I just can't find which article/writer it is. My apologies to him or her. Excellent work. If on the off chance you know who wrote it, let me know.. and if I can find it, I'll attribute it next week.)

Reply

or to participate.