💪Finkel's Fast Five 114 - April 3, 2020

Welcome to Finkel's Fast Five #114. Thanks for reading and subscribing! - Jon

 ONE

TV - If you're a fan of The Sopranos and Billions then you are really going to enjoy this short Twitter thread by Billions creator Brian Koppelman.  Koppelman is also behind Rounders, Ocean's Thirteen and a bunch of other movies that you probably like. I've heard him on several podcasts as well, and he's a great storyteller. So here's the quick thread. It will make you smile.

TWO

 SNACKS - I like popcorn but I truly only eat it at the movies. Since theaters are closed now, my at-home popcorn eating frequency has gone through the roof (we're doing like three family movie nights a week now) buuuut...  I realized that I don't even care for plain, buttered popcorn anymore. I've gotten so used to the flavored seasonings bar at the theater that I'm spoiled. I crave the 'white cheddar' or 'nacho cheese' or 'caramel' dusting I'm used to putting on before plunking my butt in a theater seat... And guess what? I have great news. You can buy the seasonings online and have movie theater flavor in your house! It's a miracle. And here's what's crazier, they have like ten more flavors than what you normally see at the movies. I mean, they even have a 'dill pickle' flavor... You're welcome. Here's the site. And if you want to order, this 15-flavor variety pack on Amazon is strong.

THREE

EXERCISE - Congratulations to the hundreds of you who have joined me doing Manly Meathead Movie Workouts from home every week. Remember they're free and you don't need any equipment...just the guts and gumption to bust your ass for 45 minutes or so.  So far we've done "King Kong Ain't Got Nothing On Me" week, inspired by Denzel (get it here). We've done "I'll Be Back" workout week inspired by Arnold's best action movies (get it here). And we started with 'Eye of the Tiger' workout week, inspired by all of Rocky's opponents (get it here).  Starting this upcoming Monday, we'll be doing... "Always Bet on Black" Workout week inspired by the one and only Wesley Snipes. I was sending these late Sunday night, but some people wanted them earlier so here you go. You can download it for free here.

FOUR

MOVIES - The studio behind awesome movies like Dragged Across Concrete and Brawl in Cell Block 99 just launched a kick-ass movie media company called Rebeller, described as 'your home for all things Outlaw Cinema, entertainment and culture.'  The site has a ton of original content every day, as well as great curated pieces, and it focuses on the kinds of movies you and I love: action films, tough guy movies, gritty movies, cop/military/thriller movies...and more. They've hired some great, unique writers to dive into their favorite films and actors and directors and, full disclosure, I get to be one of them and I love it. Here are a few of my early pieces if you want to read them:  Vince Vaughn's Journey from Swinger to Brawler Mark Wahlberg's Grittiest Fist Fighter: Bobby Mercer Why Wasn't Nighthawks Our First Great Buddy Cop Franchise?  It's a pay site, but it's free for two months starting now.

 FIVE

 A great quote about perseverance:  “Life is not easy for any of us. But what of that? We must have perseverance and above all confidence in ourselves. We must believe that we are gifted for something and that this thing must be attained.  – Marie Curie   VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: To make sure you keep getting the FF5, please add [email protected] to your address book or whitelist us.

Share the FF5 and get TREMENDOUS STUFF:  1 SHARE = Enters you into a raffle to win a free copy of one of the books I mention here in the FF5. I'll do a drawing every 10 issues, but you have to forward the FF5 to a friend to enter.  3 SHARES = 1 Abe Lincoln as Tyler Durden Fight Club Sticker - perfect for your laptop, office, fridge or on your squat rack like Tommy John  10 SHARES = 1 Official Finkel's Fast Five Coffee Mug like this one that my man Marlin won last year  25 SHARES = If you share Finkel's Fast Five with 25 friends who you think would like it, I will take you to the movies... (well, not literally) ...but I will Venmo you money for a ticket to your next movie, on me. We'll cap this at 4 people for now.  FORWARD TO A FRIEND RIGHT HERE  DID SOMEONE FORWARD YOU THIS E-MAIL? GET MY FREE STARTER LIBRARY HERE  FYI: The sharing of the FF5 is cumulative... You don't have to share this e-mail 10 times if you don't want to. It can be 10 issues over 10 weeks or 10 months, whatever... The point is, please share it. We've grown from less than a hundred to a few hundred to a few thousand readers in under two years... Let's see how fast we can get to 10,000! - Jon

And if you haven't yet, you can buy my new book, Jocks in Chief, which ranks every president athletically, right here.

Reply

or to participate.