💪Finkel's Fast Five 115 - April 10, 2020

Welcome to Finkel's Fast Five #115. Thanks for reading and subscribing! - Jon

 ONE

TOUGH GUYS - I happened to catch this short clip on the most decorated officer in the history of the Army's 82nd Airborne and now James Magellas is one of my favorite people of all time. He's the kind of no bullshit old school leader that movies are made about and books are written on. I mean, how about this quote:   "If something needed to be done, and if I was the best man out of my patrol of 25, I'd do it. I wasn't going to send a private that didn't know how to do it, I'd do it. I'd get killed, sure, but so what. That's what war is all about." The video is only four minutes long, but the last minute or so is Magellas telling a gutsy story about how he took out a German Panzer, by hand, all by himself. Yeah, you read that write. You won't regret watching this.

TWO

 MUSCLES - On a lighter note, have you ever wondered if you could crack an egg with your biceps? If you know anything about the geometry of an egg, they're somewhat of a marvel of physics and nature and it's not as easy as it looks.   Ex-Pittsburgh Steeler / gigantic human James Harrison had some time on his hands during the lockdown and made this video of his attempt at crushing an egg with his 30" pythons. It's oddly fascinating to watch.

THREE

 MOVIES - In the grand scheme of things, not being able to go the movies is an extreeeemely minor inconvenience... But for those of us who love movies, it still sucks. If you needed a reminder of how great the in-person movie experience is (versus just chilling on your couch), Scott Gustin has your back.  Gustin has been releasing opening night crowd reactions to some of the biggest scenes from Avengers: Endgame and, well, they're all awesome. A few will give you chills (if you're into these films, obviously). There really is no substitute for theater moments like these. This one is my absolute favorite: it's the moment that Captain America finally wields Thor's hammer and the crowd goes absolutely ape shit. Watch and turn the volume way up.

FOUR

TV - I know there are a zillion new shows on television, but like most people, I like rewatching my old favorites more than diving into a new series. To be fair, there aren't many shows that warrant an entire re-watch, but one show I've started re-dabbling in is Scrubs. I know it wasn't for everyone, but if it was for you, you know what I mean. And if you know what I mean, then you'll love this PDF that Shea Serrano put together:  It's called Where Do You Think We Are: Ten Illustrated Essays About Scrubs and it's illustrated just like his books are by his buddy Arturo and it's simply a good time to read. My favorite chapter involves Serrano breaking down his favorite fictional doctor dinner table. It's worth the price of the PDF alone. Here's a link if you're interested in it.

 FIVE

 A great quote about the power of thinking:  “Your mind will take the shape of what you frequently hold in thought, for the human spirit is colored by such impressions."  – Marcus Aurelius   VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: To make sure you keep getting the FF5, please add [email protected] to your address book or whitelist us.

Share the FF5 and get TREMENDOUS STUFF:  1 SHARE = Enters you into a raffle to win a free copy of one of the books I mention here in the FF5. I'll do a drawing every 10 issues, but you have to forward the FF5 to a friend to enter.  3 SHARES = 1 Abe Lincoln as Tyler Durden Fight Club Sticker - perfect for your laptop, office, fridge or on your squat rack like Tommy John  10 SHARES = 1 Official Finkel's Fast Five Coffee Mug like this one that my man Marlin won last year  25 SHARES = If you share Finkel's Fast Five with 25 friends who you think would like it, I will take you to the movies... (well, not literally) ...but I will Venmo you money for a ticket to your next movie, on me. We'll cap this at 4 people for now.  FORWARD TO A FRIEND RIGHT HERE  DID SOMEONE FORWARD YOU THIS E-MAIL? GET MY FREE STARTER LIBRARY HERE  FYI: The sharing of the FF5 is cumulative... You don't have to share this e-mail 10 times if you don't want to. It can be 10 issues over 10 weeks or 10 months, whatever... The point is, please share it. We've grown from less than a hundred to a few hundred to a few thousand readers in under two years... Let's see how fast we can get to 10,000! - Jon

And if you haven't yet, you can buy my new book, Jocks in Chief, which ranks every president athletically, right here.

Reply

or to participate.