💪Finkel's Fast Five 130 - July 24th, 2020

Welcome to Finkel's Fast Five #130. Thanks for reading and subscribing!

 ONE

 HOOPS - My favorite thing that I watched this week was an excellent documentary on one of the all-time great New York City high school basketball phenoms, Stephon Marbury.  The doc, called A Kid From Coney Island, does an outstanding job of painting the picture of the immense pressure Marbury had been under since he was in 8th grade. He had three brothers play big-time college ball, but they all flamed out before making it to the NBA. Stephon was the chosen one and accepted all the fame and the spotlight that came with it. From being best buds with Kevin Garnett to going to war with the Knicks and his foray into China, this was a really eye-opening film.

TWO

 GRILLING - I love to grill. You love to grill. We all love to grill... BUT, like many of you, I never know when the hell my propane tank is low and all summer I do the dangerous dance of firing up the grill and hoping it doesn't run out while my burgers are only halfway cooked.  Yes, I could have a second tank on standby, but really, where's the fun in that? Now, you don't have to guess at all. I came across this stupid-easy method to figure out how much propane you have left that is far more effective than my usual test of picking it up, shaking it, then saying, "eh, feels about 15% full." It involves a cup of hot water. That's it. Check it out.

THREE

SWIMMING - I'm not a jealous person. I realize that over the course of our lives, some people will have cool stuff that other people will just never have. That's life. As long as you have your health, the rest will figure itself out. Now... All that being said...  I am a die-hard swimmer and this week Michael Phelps posted a picture of a lap pool he was working out in that was actually an infinity pool overlooking the ocean in a tropical paradise and... damn... yeah... I wouldn't mind having one of those one day. Ha! Here's the pool. It's sick.

FOUR

 DADS - Did you know that if you have a few decent-sized Amazon cardboard boxes laying around you can make an insane robot helmet for your kids? I didn't either.   Now, I'll be honest. I showed this to my son and we definitely "plan" on trying it. I just need a glue gun, which I should be able to pick up. And it does seem like a really cool project to do with your kids since we'll all be homeschooling until 2039. However, even if you don't make this helmet, these incredible designs by the artist/engineer Warren King, are worth the watch. They don't call him the Wizard of Cardboard for nothing.

FIVE

 A great quote about handling change:  “Those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything.”  - George Bernard Shaw

THIS IS THE LAST WEEK FOR THE LIMITED-TIME DISCOUNT: Journalism Jewels

I added 3 NEW TESTIMONIALS this week to the Journalism Jewels Course. The response has been humbling. If you've ever thought of making money freelancing, this is the course.   Keeping it at about 70% OFF for FF5 Readers: If you're interested, check it out here.   SUPER, SUPER IMPORTANT NOTE: To make sure you keep getting the FF5, please add [email protected] to your address book or whitelist us.  AND DON'T FORGET TO FORWARD TO A FRIEND: FORWARD TO A FRIEND HERE.   WAS THIS E-MAIL FORWARDED TO YOU? SIGN-UP HERE

Share the FF5 and get TREMENDOUS STUFF:  1 SHARE = Enters you into a raffle to win a free copy of one of the books I mention here in the FF5. I'll do a drawing every 10 issues, but you have to forward the FF5 to a friend to enter.  3 SHARES = 1 Abe Lincoln as Tyler Durden Fight Club Sticker - perfect for your laptop, office, fridge or on your squat rack like Tommy John  10 SHARES = 1 Official Finkel's Fast Five Coffee Mug like this one that my man Marlin won last year  25 SHARES = If you share Finkel's Fast Five with 25 friends who you think would like it, I will take you to the movies... (well, not literally) ...but I will Venmo you money for a ticket to your next movie, on me. We'll cap this at 4 people for now.  FORWARD TO A FRIEND RIGHT HERE  DID SOMEONE FORWARD YOU THIS E-MAIL? GET MY FREE STARTER LIBRARY HERE  FYI: The sharing of the FF5 is cumulative... You don't have to share this e-mail 10 times if you don't want to. It can be 10 issues over 10 weeks or 10 months, whatever... The point is, please share it. We've grown from less than a hundred to a few hundred to a few thousand readers in under two years... Let's see how fast we can get to 10,000! - Jon

Reply

or to participate.