💪Finkel's Fast Five 137 - September 11, 2020

Welcome to Finkel's Fast Five #137. Thanks for reading and subscribing!  ONE  HOOPS - With virtual schooling in full swing I can now add Gym Teacher to my resume and while I haven't challenged my kids to 'kick me in the Jimmy' like Beavis & Butthead's Phys Ed coach, I have ditched the lame curriculum and focused on what I know best...  ...driveway basketball. In particular, this week's lesson was to try to teach my son Allen Iverson's signature move. Our main source of learning material was this sick Iverson crossover highlight video on YouTube. If for some reason you forgot how ridiculously good Iverson was, watch it (the Jordan crossover never, ever, ever gets old). In fact, we were working so hard on the move we were late to homeschooling and my son was honest with his teacher and it led to this exchange, which I shared on Twitter and now has me in 4th place in ESPN's official virtual school Dad of the Year Rankings.

TWO

 FOOD - Look, I'm not going to lie. I've become a bit of a cooking fiend the last few months and I've been experimenting with a new arsenal of herbs and spices and blends to step my game up.  I'm a big fan of supporting local companies and trying regional flavors so this week I picked up the Key West Spice Company's Southernmost Blend and...it's delicious. It has a sweet, jerk-chicken like flavor and it's been great on chicken, on french fries and I actually put it on my scrambled eggs this weekend because I can't help but live dangerously. Gotta say, so far it's been great on everything. Check it out here.

THREE

 BEER & BASEBALL - Imagine your favorite beer. Now imagine an official Major League Baseball bat from your favorite team. Now imagine what it would be like to drink your favorite beer out of the barrel of your favorite team's bat.  You don't have to imagine anymore. There's a company called Dugout Mugs and their entire business is hollowing out baseball bats and turning them into beer mugs. Due to the unheralded power and unstoppable influence of the FF5 thanks to you all, the good people at Dugout Mugs sent me a Red Sox mug and I love it. Here's a nice slow motion video of my first pour. The mugs are a cool conversation piece and they're just overall awesome-looking. A perfect gift if you're looking for something different for the baseball fan in your life. I wanted to hook you guys up so the CEO agreed to give FF5 readers 25% off your first order. Just go to their website and use the code FASTFIVE at checkout.

FOUR

 MUSCLE - I'm hammering away on two book deadlines at the moment and my back and shoulders are feeling it. And there's only so many stretches and rolls I can do to offset it. So this week I tried to knock out a set of push-ups to failure for every hour I wrote. Boring, right? Actually, super boring. Buuuuuut...  I started mixing up my hand placement and that solved the boredom problem. So I'd start with standard push-ups, then move to diamond cutters and then wide grip and then... actually... and then I ran out of ideas. I needed some inspiration and I found Outside Magazine's piece on the 14 Types of push-up variations and that did the trick. So now I'm doing Sphinx push-ups, Spidermans and all kinds of goofy moves. It's working. Read it here.

FIVE

 A quote about eating that made me laugh:  “My doctor told me I had to stop throwing intimate dinners for four unless there are three other people.”   - Orson Welles

 PS - That 'kick me in the Jimmy' scene from Beavis and Butthead is still great. Enjoy.  SUPER, SUPER IMPORTANT NOTE: To make sure you keep getting the FF5, please add [email protected] to your address book or whitelist us.  AND DON'T FORGET TO FORWARD TO A FRIEND: FORWARD TO A FRIEND HERE.   WAS THIS E-MAIL FORWARDED TO YOU? SIGN-UP HERE

Share the FF5 and get TREMENDOUS STUFF:  1 SHARE = Enters you into a raffle to win a free copy of one of the books I mention here in the FF5. I'll do a drawing every 10 issues, but you have to forward the FF5 to a friend to enter.  3 SHARES = 1 Abe Lincoln as Tyler Durden Fight Club Sticker - perfect for your laptop, office, fridge or on your squat rack like Tommy John  10 SHARES = 1 Official Finkel's Fast Five Coffee Mug like this one that my man Marlin won last year  25 SHARES = If you share Finkel's Fast Five with 25 friends who you think would like it, I will take you to the movies... (well, not literally) ...but I will Venmo you money for a ticket to your next movie, on me. We'll cap this at 4 people for now.  FORWARD TO A FRIEND RIGHT HERE  DID SOMEONE FORWARD YOU THIS E-MAIL? GET MY FREE STARTER LIBRARY HERE  FYI: The sharing of the FF5 is cumulative... You don't have to share this e-mail 10 times if you don't want to. It can be 10 issues over 10 weeks or 10 months, whatever... The point is, please share it. We've grown from less than a hundred to a few hundred to a few thousand readers in under two years... Let's see how fast we can get to 10,000! - Jon

Reply

or to participate.