💪Finkel's Fast Five 139 - September 25th, 2020

Welcome to Finkel's Fast Five #139. Thanks for reading and subscribing!  ONE  PROTEIN - Fact: you can't fuel a grown man meathead and one budding meathead boy on salad and quinoa and cottage cheese. No, at some point you need meat. Lots of it. Which means lots of trips to the store. Which is a pain... But what if you could have delicious, grass-fed meat delivered to your door?  I am admittedly super late to the game on this one, but after my friends Josh and Seth and about ten other people told me Butcher Box was the best, we finally tried it and...I gotta say...it's great. So far the strip steak, the ground beef and the chicken have been amazing. If you don't know what Butcher Box is, it is essentially a beef bullet train to your house. Filet, bacon, sausage, chicken, ground beef... All of it. Pick your meats. Pick how often you want it. And it shows up at your door. Done and done and delicious. Check it out.

TWO

 EFFICIENCY - I interview A TON of people for the books that I write. I love the conversation part of it. I HATE the transcribing part of it. It's the bane of every writers existence. A few companies have made software to make the recording/transcribing process easy, but they usually fall way short or are super expensive.  But I FINALLY found one that is cost-friendly and super easy to use. You open the app, merge your call and the recording begins. Then when it's done, you just hit "transcribe" and you get a transcription of the interview. I'd say the transcription is about 85 - 90% accurate, but it's enough. Beats 2 hours of typing for a 45 minute conversation. And you can use it for any conversations you want to remember, etc... (just remember you have to tell people you're recording them and why). Anyway, if you think this could help you at all, try Tape A Call. You could even just use it for meetings to transcribe the notes.

THREE

 MOVIES - One of the most iconic/memorable movie scenes of the last twenty years has to be the opening bar scene in The Social Network. From the machine gun dialogue to the actual conversation to the music to the way it ends to how it shapes Zuckerberg... everything... it's brilliant.  If you think so as well (which you likely do) or you don't remember how mind-bogglingly awesome the scene was, then you'll enjoy the hell out of this behind-the-scenes look at this scene from Katie Baker. It goes deep... The actors describe it as a boot camp scene but also one of the most gratifying of their lives. Even the editors totally geek out on it. I loved this article. Enjoy it.

FOUR

 SNACKS - I try a zillion snacks. I'm a snacker. Always have been. I work out hard, I'm hungry all day. So i snack. Morning. Noon. Late night. The only caveat is I don't mess with potato chips or crackers or empty calorie nonsense. I try to go with all-natural stuff. Nuts. Seeds. Jerky. Basically high protein, non-processed stuff.  This week my wife brought home a snack that has miraculously pole vaulted into a Top 5 snack of mine. I'm talking about Coconut Clusters. They are 100% delicious and taste like dessert. But the only ingredients in the bag are: coconuts, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds. I'm slightly addicted. You will be too. Satisfies any sweet tooth for sure. Give'em a shot.

FIVE

 A favorite quote from the Social Network:  "I think if your clients want to sit on my shoulders and call themselves tall, they have the right to give it a try, but there's no requirement that I enjoy sitting here listening to people lie. You have part of my attention – you have the minimum amount. The rest of my attention is back at the offices of Facebook, where my colleagues and I are doing things that no one in this room, including and especially your clients, are intellectually or creatively capable of doing... Did I adequately answer your condescending question?".  - Social Network Script - Aaron Sorkin - Mark Zuckerberg dialogue

  SUPER, SUPER IMPORTANT NOTE: To make sure you keep getting the FF5, please add [email protected] to your address book or whitelist us.  AND DON'T FORGET TO FORWARD TO A FRIEND: FORWARD TO A FRIEND HERE.   WAS THIS E-MAIL FORWARDED TO YOU? SIGN-UP HERE

Share the FF5 and get TREMENDOUS STUFF:  1 SHARE = Enters you into a raffle to win a free copy of one of the books I mention here in the FF5. I'll do a drawing every 10 issues, but you have to forward the FF5 to a friend to enter.  3 SHARES = 1 Abe Lincoln as Tyler Durden Fight Club Sticker - perfect for your laptop, office, fridge or on your squat rack like Tommy John  10 SHARES = 1 Official Finkel's Fast Five Coffee Mug like this one that my man Marlin won last year  25 SHARES = If you share Finkel's Fast Five with 25 friends who you think would like it, I will take you to the movies... (well, not literally) ...but I will Venmo you money for a ticket to your next movie, on me. We'll cap this at 4 people for now.  FORWARD TO A FRIEND RIGHT HERE  DID SOMEONE FORWARD YOU THIS E-MAIL? GET MY FREE STARTER LIBRARY HERE  FYI: The sharing of the FF5 is cumulative... You don't have to share this e-mail 10 times if you don't want to. It can be 10 issues over 10 weeks or 10 months, whatever... The point is, please share it. We've grown from less than a hundred to a few hundred to a few thousand readers in under two years... Let's see how fast we can get to 10,000! - Jon

Reply

or to participate.