💪Finkel's Fast Five 141 - October 9th, 2020

Welcome to Finkel's Fast Five #141. Thanks for reading and subscribing!  ONE  MOVIES - Top Gun. Pearl Harbor. Dunkirk. All of these films have insane fighter pilot scenes (AKA: dog fights)... but how much of the high-flying, Mach-2, machine-gunning action is really possible and how much of it is made up to look bad ass on screen?  If you've wondered this, like I have, then you will love this 18-minute video with fighter pilot Christine "Grinder" Mau, as she walks through video of our favorite fighter pilot scenes/lingo/moments and calls bullshit or not. Now you'll know what being 'painted' is, whether 'guided' missiles can really chase a plane and whether pilots really catapult up to the sun to lose an enemy. I loved every second of it.

TWO

 MEAT - I talked about 'Butcher Box' a few FF5 issues back and I have to say it's allowed us to keep the meat train rolling in the Finkel household. I've had six, 4 oz. filets in our freezer for a week and on Monday I made filet mignon at home myself for the first time.  I've been using Gordon Ramsey's technique for the perfect strip steak for a while, and it is absolutely delicious, so I went back to the well and found this video on how to make the perfect filet...and... I'm not going to be modest here... I crushed it. The filets I made were awesome, fancy, steakhouse quality. And it took like 8 minutes. Here's the video. Now go cook some meat.

THREE

 SPEED - You know who was absurdly, cartoonishly fast? Rocket Ismail. Sometimes when my son sprints down the street I'll call him Rocket and I finally dialed up some YouTube highlights for us and nothing has changed.  Rocket could flat out fly. He is the only Notre Dame player I have ever liked and one of maybe 10 college players who I'd go out of my way to watch if they were on (and Notre Dame, for better and mostly worse - sorry, Chris) is always on. If you forgot what otherworldly speed is, then watch this kick return against Michigan. An absolute burner.

FOUR

 MUSCLES - I came to the magnificent wonder of pull-ups, chin-ups and all the 'ups' variations pretty late in my meathead life. I used to hate doing them because, you know, they're hard. Now I do sets of them 3-4 times a week, even on off days. I use chains, different grips, and all kinds of different maneuvers to jack my body up the bar.  Lately, I've been taking my kids to a fitness trail at a cool lake by our house and they have pull-up bars. My 7-year-old son can now do two, which is amazing (here is an awesome sunset shot of him getting after it). We went the other day and a man walking asked how to learn to do them, so I shared tips that have worked for me: starting with dead hangs and increasing times, then hanging at various stages of the pull, then sets of one, etc... I found this great article that spells out most of it. So if you're interested in upping your pull-up game, go for it. It's never too late and you will get bigger arms, wider shoulders, a thicker back and...better posture! Here it is.

FIVE

 A favorite quote about eating right:  "To eat is a necessity, but to eat intelligently is an art."  - La Rochefoucauld

  SUPER, SUPER IMPORTANT NOTE: To make sure you keep getting the FF5, please add [email protected] to your address book or whitelist us.  AND DON'T FORGET TO FORWARD TO A FRIEND: FORWARD TO A FRIEND HERE.   WAS THIS E-MAIL FORWARDED TO YOU? SIGN-UP HERE

Share the FF5 and get TREMENDOUS STUFF:  1 SHARE = Enters you into a raffle to win a free copy of one of the books I mention here in the FF5. I'll do a drawing every 10 issues, but you have to forward the FF5 to a friend to enter.  3 SHARES = 1 Abe Lincoln as Tyler Durden Fight Club Sticker - perfect for your laptop, office, fridge or on your squat rack like Tommy John  10 SHARES = 1 Official Finkel's Fast Five Coffee Mug like this one that my man Marlin won last year  25 SHARES = If you share Finkel's Fast Five with 25 friends who you think would like it, I will take you to the movies... (well, not literally) ...but I will Venmo you money for a ticket to your next movie, on me. We'll cap this at 4 people for now.  FORWARD TO A FRIEND RIGHT HERE  DID SOMEONE FORWARD YOU THIS E-MAIL? GET MY FREE STARTER LIBRARY HERE  FYI: The sharing of the FF5 is cumulative... You don't have to share this e-mail 10 times if you don't want to. It can be 10 issues over 10 weeks or 10 months, whatever... The point is, please share it. We've grown from less than a hundred to a few hundred to a few thousand readers in under two years... Let's see how fast we can get to 10,000! - Jon

Reply

or to participate.