💪Finkel's Fast Five 144 - October 30, 2020

Welcome to Finkel's Fast Five #144. Thanks for reading and subscribing! FIRST, A BIG PROJECT ANNOUNCEMENT: I am psyched to share with all of you that my new book is coming out December 7th and it's called, Hoops Heist: Seattle, the Sonics & How a Stolen Team’s Legacy Gave Rise to the NBA’s Secret Empire.   This is the untold story of the city of Seattle, their beloved Sonics, and how the legacy of their stolen team created a transcendent hoops culture and a pipeline of NBA All-Stars, champions and icons with roots in the Emerald City and the Pacific Northwest. This book is special for a bunch of reasons, one of which is that it's the first book published by 2x NBA All-Star (and one of my favorite Celtics ever), Isaiah Thomas and his company, Slow Grind Media. It's an honor to kick things off with such a solid crew. I worked with IT and other legends who played in or were from Washington to get the story just right, from Kevin Durant and Gary Payton, to Ray Allen, Detlef Schrempf, George Karl and dozens and dozens more. I loved writing this book. I know you'll love reading it.  You can pre-order it right here, right now.   Now onto the regularly scheduled Fast Five: ONE  STRENGTH - Have you ever wondered what your one rep max is in bench press, but didn't feel like asking someone to spot you so you didn't kill yourself while trying to push an ungodly amount of weight over your body (because you're super strong)?  Introducing this surprisingly accurate bench press calculator. You simply put in a weight you can lift and the number of reps you can do and...voila, it spits out a ballpark number of your max. And I think it's surprisingly accurate. I'd say within 10-15 pounds. Give it a try. I'd be curious to hear what you think.

TWO

 LONGFORM - I'm sure you've all heard of the rise of esports and how playing professional video games has become a career and a billion dollar industry.   But did you know that the kids who dreamed of one day becoming modern e-sports stars are sustaining injuries and bodily harm almost on par with actual athletes? I didn't know this. I found this longform piece in Wired Magazine really interesting in terms of the cost of video game stardom on teen and young adults' bodies over time. Especially interesting if your kids are starting to get the video game bug.

THREE

 TREATS - One of my favorite follows on Twitter is a bodyweight workout guru named Jack Coulson. He's got a ton of courses focused on getting jacked by only using exercises involving your body. He's worth following for those tips for sure.  He also recently shared a super simple, mostly-healthy snack that anyone can make with bananas and peanut butter and like he says, you're welcome. It's delicious. Here's his post with the recipe (and follow him).

FOUR

 GEAR - I realize it's getting colder in most parts of the country, but that doesn't mean you'll have no use for super comfortable t-shirts and undershirts.  I have zero affiliation with this company, I just stumbled on them when I was looking for smooth-fitting, breathable, non-itchy t-shirts and I'm telling you, these shirts are amazing. It's like slipping on a cloud. Since I'm in Florida, they're perfect for the humidity and I wear them as regular T-shirts, but you can put them under a sweater or button-up shirt and they'd feel fantastic. Give'em a shot.

FIVE

 A great quote about staying sharp and always improving from an unlikely source:  "Don't get too comfortable with who you are at any given time; you may miss the opportunity to become who you want to be."  - Jon Bon Jovi

  SUPER, SUPER IMPORTANT NOTE: To make sure you keep getting the FF5, please add [email protected] to your address book or whitelist us.  AND DON'T FORGET TO FORWARD TO A FRIEND: FORWARD TO A FRIEND HERE.   WAS THIS E-MAIL FORWARDED TO YOU? SIGN-UP HERE

Share the FF5 and get TREMENDOUS STUFF:  1 SHARE = Enters you into a raffle to win a free copy of one of the books I mention here in the FF5. I'll do a drawing every 10 issues, but you have to forward the FF5 to a friend to enter.  3 SHARES = 1 Abe Lincoln as Tyler Durden Fight Club Sticker - perfect for your laptop, office, fridge or on your squat rack like Tommy John  10 SHARES = 1 Official Finkel's Fast Five Coffee Mug like this one that my man Marlin won last year  25 SHARES = If you share Finkel's Fast Five with 25 friends who you think would like it, I will take you to the movies... (well, not literally) ...but I will Venmo you money for a ticket to your next movie, on me. We'll cap this at 4 people for now.  FORWARD TO A FRIEND RIGHT HERE  DID SOMEONE FORWARD YOU THIS E-MAIL? GET MY FREE STARTER LIBRARY HERE  FYI: The sharing of the FF5 is cumulative... You don't have to share this e-mail 10 times if you don't want to. It can be 10 issues over 10 weeks or 10 months, whatever... The point is, please share it. We've grown from less than a hundred to a few hundred to a few thousand readers in under two years... Let's see how fast we can get to 10,000! - Jon

Reply

or to participate.