Finkel's Fast Five #156

1 book, 1 article, 1 thread, 1 quote at a time

BOOK: Best American Sports Writing 2020 edited by Jackie MacMullan

This is one of my favorite purchases every single year. I think I started buying it in the late 90s and if you’ve never heard of it, it’s a series that compiles the best sportswriting pieces every year with a big-time guest editor. This year’s editor is one of my all-time favorite writers, Jackie MacMullan. I love these books because you can read them in any order you want, whenever you want, and the pieces never get old. Also, it’s a who’s who of the most talented writers in the sportswriting game.

SIDE NOTE: one of the coolest moments in my career was when an article I wrote called The Night the Legend of the Driveway was Born, about me and my dad and brother, was a notable mention in the 2015 issue. If you played driveway hoops with your dad or your kids, I’m confident you’ll love it. Check it out here.

ARTICLE: Davante Adams is Peaking in Every Way Possible by Mirin Fader

I’ve recommended a few of Mirin’s longform features before. She’s a terrific writer and always tackles an athlete at the perfect time. Her most recent feature explores Packers’ star Davante Adams’ life, particularly his new role as a dad and his motivations to become a top receiver in the NFL. Enjoy it here.

THREAD: 5 Unique Presidential Fitness Habits

Biden’s bringing a Peloton Bike to the White House? Awesome. Beats Coolidge's dorky electric horse. Since I wrote the only book to rank every president’s athletic ability, I put together a special Inauguration Thread highlighting some of the goofier POTUS workout/sports habits. Read it here.

GEAR: SLOW GRIND CLOTHING

My Hoops Heist publisher and friend Isaiah Thomas has a clothing company based around the idea that success is a slow grind, and only by doing the work day-in and day-out can we succeed. I am 100% behind that ethos. I recently got my hands on some of the apparel from the Slow Grind line and I love it. I wore it during an early AM weight session this week right here. Check out the whole SLOW GRIND line and if you like it, hit me and Isaiah with a photo on Twitter and we’ll share it.

QUOTE OF THE WEEK:

“History is a gallery of pictures in which there are few originals and many copies.”

- Alexis de TocquevilleThank you for reading! If you enjoyed this issue of the FF5, I would be grateful if you’d share it with someone who you think would like it as well. The button is below.

And if someone shared this with you, please subscribe. Welcome aboard!

PS - Did you buy Hoops Heist yet? Buy it today and send me a screen shot on Twitter and I’ll send you a signed, awesome bookmark ASAP. Here’s the link to BUY.

Reply

or to participate.