💪Finkel's Fast Five Issue 110 - March 6, 2020

Welcome to Finkel's Fast Five #110. Thanks for reading and subscribing! - Jon

ONE

MAN'S BEST FRIEND - My four-legged best buddy passed away last week. As anyone who has been through it knows, it hurts. A lot.... This is a post I dreaded writing and debated writing but ultimately had to write. Mostly for me. Maybe for you. Below is our story.

TWO

BOOKS - We're a month out from baseball season and the release of author Brad Balukjian's book: The Wax Pack: On the Open Road in Search of Baseball's Afterlife.  This book is, without question, one of the coolest, most unique ideas for a book I've seen in a while. In Brad's own words: "I took a pack of 1986 baseball cards and made a pact: 1. I'd track down all guys inside. 2. I'd chew the gum. 3. I'd write a book about it." If you're a baseball card nerd or used to be, then of course you know he's referring to a classic pack of '86 Topps. How awesome is this idea? The minute I heard about it I knew I was reading it. And it has one of the all-time great sports book covers as well. Check it out.

THREE

PODCAST - Mike Tyson has a podcast/YouTube show called Hotboxin'. He is a surprisingly strong interviewer, especially when it comes to talking with current/former boxers and other athletes. He is raw, erratic, occasionally hard-to-follow, but always (and i mean always) entertaining.  I enjoy watching the episodes in the background while I'm working more than listening to them, because I think Tyson's facial emotions, mannerisms and body language are so strong. This episode with Sugar Ray Leonard, where Tyson talks about the fear of letting his inner demons out, is incredible.

FOUR

MOVIES - There's a phenomenal sports movie that came out about ten years ago that has gone a little too under the radar. It's on Amazon Prime now and I just re-watched it and here's my hot take: it belongs in the pantheon of all-time great sports movies - right up there with Rocky and Remember the Titans and whatever other movies are on your list.  The movie I'm talking about is 'Warrior', starring Tom Hardy, Joel Edgerton and Nick Nolte. All three give outstanding, gutsy performances and on top of that, the fight scenes and the finale are as good as it gets. What sticks with me the most about the film is the stark contrast in the two brothers (Hardy & Edgerton) in terms of motivation, fighting style and personality...and how those traits manifest themselves at different points in the movie. I wrote a post about it which you can read here: Choose Your Warrior Movie Motivation: 'Rage' Like Tom Hardy or 'Heart' Like Joel Edgerton. Or if you haven't seen the movie, here's the trailer.

 FIVE

 A great quote about dogs:  “It is amazing how much love and laughter dogs bring into our lives and even how much closer we become with each other because of them.”  – John Grogan   IMPORTANT NOTE: To make sure you keep getting the FF5, please add [email protected] to your address book or whitelist us.

Share the FF5 and get TREMENDOUS STUFF:  1 SHARE = Enters you into a raffle to win a free copy of one of the books I mention here in the FF5. I'll do a drawing every 10 issues, but you have to forward the FF5 to a friend to enter.  3 SHARES = 1 Abe Lincoln as Tyler Durden Fight Club Sticker - perfect for your laptop, office, fridge or on your squat rack like Tommy John  10 SHARES = 1 Official Finkel's Fast Five Coffee Mug like this one that my man Marlin won last year  25 SHARES = If you share Finkel's Fast Five with 25 friends who you think would like it, I will take you to the movies... (well, not literally) ...but I will Venmo you money for a ticket to your next movie, on me. We'll cap this at 4 people for now.  FORWARD TO A FRIEND RIGHT HERE  DID SOMEONE FORWARD YOU THIS E-MAIL? GET MY FREE STARTER LIBRARY HERE  FYI: The sharing of the FF5 is cumulative... You don't have to share this e-mail 10 times if you don't want to. It can be 10 issues over 10 weeks or 10 months, whatever... The point is, please share it. We've grown from less than a hundred to a few hundred to a few thousand readers in under two years... Let's see how fast we can get to 10,000! - Jon

And if you haven't yet, you can buy my new book, Jocks in Chief, which ranks every president athletically, right here.

Reply

or to participate.