Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #19

June 8th, 2018

How Twinkies went from being dead to worth billions: Die Hard. Ghostbusters. These are just a few of the movies from my childhood that showcased Twinkies. Then, in 2012, Hostess went bankrupt and we lived in a world without Twinkie the Kid. Now, Hostess and Twinkies are worth $2 billion. This great story in Forbes chronicles Twinkies' road from termination to triumph.  The most meathead moment I've ever seen captured on camera: I can't explain why I find this 8-second video mesmerizing. What the guy does is absurd and makes no sense. But I think it's been overlooked how hard catching the loaded bar would be. Why he throws it? I have no idea. Watch.  The gift I give myself every summer: Summers are awesome for everything except your feet. They get hot. They get swampy. If you have a job they're stuck in shoes all day. Several years ago I decided to give my feet a gift every summer with a yearly set of new, sweat-wicking, breathable socks. I try a new brand every year. This year, Slazenger. I can't recommend this idea enough. Just think about how great it feels when your feet feel great.  The greatest food combination I've ever stumbled into: Last Saturday my daughter wished we could have burgers from In-N-Out and nuggets from Chick-Fil-A for dinner and since I’m the kind of dad that likes to make wishes come true we got both (this is the best my passenger seat has ever looked) and I discovered this: if you dip an In-N-Out double double animal style in Chick-Fil-A sauce you unlock the secret of the flavor universe and your taste buds explode with joy.  A tremendously written sentence:  "The Channel swim, being within possibility but never easy, is as satisfying a feat as can be imagined in any field of physical enterprise. None but first-class athletes can presume to essay it; but they can enter the lists from all parts of the world and the waters thereof, just as they are, without implements and without artifice, men and women against wind and tide." - Times of London, August, 7, 1926 - courtesy of author Glenn Stout who posted this.  Have a great weekend and good luck against the wind and the tide!  If you love this newsletter please forward it to a friend immediately. No, don't wait until later when you forget... Just send them this link now: Thanks!

- Jon

Reply

or to participate.