Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #24

July 13th, 2018

There was a 100% chance that when I saw this Forbes piece on how The Boss is a great boss I'd read it: Picture me at eight years old, screaming "lights out tonight, trouble in the heartland, got a head on collision, smashin' in my guts man..." out the open passenger window of my Uncle's Datsun 280-Z when we'd visit him in New Hampshire. Been a Springsteen fan ever since. Thirty years later, this piece by Bruce Weinstein explains some of the secrets to his business success.  It's summer and it's 100 degrees every day here in Dallas and as I've said before, I will try any cold brew I walk by: This week I was leaving the grocery store and saw a ready-made "to-go" version of Cold Brew Bullet Proof Coffee on sale. I know the bulletproof hype has faded, but I'd never tried one with the "official" bulletproof ingredients. I gotta say, it tasted clean and led to a pleasant, refreshing brain buzz...that my 5-year-old quickly squandered when he melted down over me not buying him Funfetti Cake Pop Tarts.  This looong profile on the guy who invented the World Wide Web and his crusade to save it is very interesting: His name is Tim Berners-Lee and he's spent thirty years hoping humans would figure out something better to do with the web than spread the Crying Jordan GIF. Spoiler alert: we didn't, and the ceiling continues to be the roof. For a brief history on the web, it's initial intentions and the guy who's been there from the start, this is a nice deep dive / profile. Great work, Katrina Brooker.  UPDATE: Summer Challenge: 10 sets of 10 Burpees per day, 10 days straight AKA How to Burn 2,000 Calories in 10 Days Burpees burn about 10 calories a minute, so with quick math, yes, you can burn 2,000 calories in ten days doing 20 minutes of Burpees a day. By the time you read this, we should be 800 Burpees down. The first day it took me almost 25 minutes to finish. By Thursday, I was down to under 18 minutes. Here's my post-workout, post-mortem video after breaking my record..  A tremendously written sentence about one of my favorite baseball players ever, Roberto Clemente: "The batting champion of the major leagues lowered himself to the pea-green carpet of his forty-eight-foot living room and sprawled on his right side, flinging his left leg over his right leg. He wore gold Oriental pajama tops, tan slacks, battered bedroom slippers - and,for the purposes of the demonstration he was conducting - a tortured grimace."- By Myron Cope for Sports Illustrated in 1966.  Have a great weekend and try not wear a tortured grimace while lowering yourself to the pea-green carpet in your family room.  You love Finkel's Fast Five. Your pals will, too. Share it with them. Thanks!

- Jon

Reply

or to participate.