Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #29

August 17th, 2018

I admit to having not watched The Simpsons in a while, but this podcast about the role of food in the show is awesome: Duff Beer. Krusty O's. Pink donuts. They all bring back such great memories. In fact, listening to this pod is one-part nostalgia, one-part comedy and another part food/TV deep dive, so that's three parts of a good time. My old pal, Dan Pashman, the host of the James Beard-winning podcast, The Sporkful, is also a super fan and his enthusiasm comes through. Listen to it here.  This book is way out of my wheelhouse and not something I'd normally come across but I bought it on a whim: Here's how I found it: I'm working on the new Life of Dad book and one of our sections is on comedian Jim Gaffigan. I was Google searching Jim Gaffigan and 'books' and found a picture of him holding a book titled Unwifeable by Mandy Stadtmiller. Looked interesting. Then I saw AJ Jacobs and other writers I like endorsed it so I bought it completely blind. You can too right here. Can't wait to check it out.  As you all no doubt know, Aretha Franklin passed away this week. I just read this profile on her from a 1982 issue of Esquire and it captured her greatness and genius: The article was written by Charlie Haas and it is absolutely worth spending some time with. Here's the link. A lot happened after this was written, but it's a nice glimpse into her career up to that point and where it was at that time.  I'm not a clothing savant but this new strategy to fight the sticky summer heat is working: I've never worn t-shirts or tank tops under short sleeve shirts or polos in my life. Always seemed stupid. And yet, when it's over 100 degrees those shirts tend to get a little prickly. These bamboo, rayon, micro modal / whatever undershirt tanks had the best reviews on Amazon so I ordered them and...man...what a difference. It's like wearing a cool, silk cloud under your shirt. Check'em out.   When reading the Esquire story on the Queen of Soul, I was reminded of this tremendous quote I came across a long time ago: "Mediocrity knows nothing higher than itself, but talent instantly recognizes genius." - Arthur Conan Doyle  Have a great weekend and may someone with talent instantly recognize your genius!  A BUNCH of you with friends last week and I am truly grateful for all the new FF5 readers!!!  If you haven't shared it, all I ask is that you send this next link to two people who you think would like it. It would mean a ton. THANK YOU:

- Jon

Reply

or to participate.