Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #37

OCTOBER 12TH, 2018 - ISSUE #37

The most disturbing article I read this week: Evidently, destroying cable television and newspapers wasn't enough for Millennials. They now have their sights set on one of the finest innovations the human mind has ever produced: delicious, processed American Cheese. I wish I was kidding but I'm not. There are real facts supporting this calamity. Read the article in Bloomberg if you want to learn why so many young people are cutting the cheese. (Oh man, I could not wait to write that line and I'm laughing as I type it and yeah I'm still five but it's a good article though).  This is the most enjoyable thing I'm watching right now: I admit it took me too long to start watching it but the new series catching up on the lives of Daniel LaRusso and Johnny Lawrence on YouTube called, fittingly, Cobra Kai, is, and may be, the most fun show out right now. The writers nailed every single thing they had to... From the fallout of the Karate Kid's crane kick to Daniel owning a car dealership to Lawrence's general outlook on modern society. Everything is perfect and if you rooted for Daniel (or against him) back when he asked out Ali with an 'I' WATCH THIS SHOW.  I removed caffeine from my life for a week and replaced it with this: Hey, remember last week when I wrote about the cold brew that was like jet fuel in my veins? It made me re-think how much caffeine I've been drinking on a regular basis and, um, it was a lot. Between pre-workouts at 5am, green tea at breakfast, cold brew in the afternoon and whatever else, I was going a little overboard so I quit cold turkey on Saturday to see what would happen (a space shuttle launching in my head for three days straight is what happened). I'm good now, but I'm going to go a week without any caffeine and then maybe limit to one cup of a caffeinated drink a day, but we'll see. In the meantime I've been drinking this Rooibos Tea and it's packed with antioxidants, tastes awesome and has no caffeine.   The book I look forward to reading every year just came out: I grew up reading the Best American Sports Writing Series when guys like Frank Deford and Ralph Wiley and Rick Reilly and other sports writing legends filled the pages. The 2018 edition with Wright Thompson, Tom Junod, Howard Bryant and my new favorite, Jane Bernstein, is just as good. Bonus: It was edited by another one of my favorite writers, Jeff Pearlman. If you love great writing and excellent stories and sports, pick up a copy here.  I couldn't resist revisiting one of the most tremendous, evil and powerful movie monologues and deliveries of all time while watching Cobra Kai. Without further adieu, here is John Kreese's famous dojo dialogue: "We do not train to be merciful here. Mercy is for the weak. Here, in the streets, in competition. A man confronts you, he is the enemy. An enemy deserves no mercy. What is the problem, Mr. Lawrence?" - the great Martin Cove as John Kreese  Have a great weekend and remember if a man confronts you, he is the enemy and an enemy deserves no mercy!  CAN YOU DO ME A FAVOR PLEASE? Forward this to ONE person who you think would enjoy the FF5:

 THANK YOU!  - Jon

Reply

or to participate.