• Books & Biceps
  • Posts
  • Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #44 - The Behemoth Bovine, a Perfect Book Light, LeBron's Rare Training Regimen and more...

Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #44 - The Behemoth Bovine, a Perfect Book Light, LeBron's Rare Training Regimen and more...

FINKEL'S FAST FIVE - ISSUE #44 NOVEMBER 30th, 2018

The best podcast I listened to this week: I have spent a lot of time rooting against LeBron James on the court as a Celtics fan. I've mocked all the little LeBron "things" over the years (rightly so - remember when he used to bite his nails all the time?)... BUT I'm a huge fan of the man himself. From his community work and school, to his business ventures, to his focus on his kids to all the health and fitness innovations he's utilized, he's a fascinating guy - and this interview with Tim Ferriss is one of the first times I've ever really heard him talk about any of it.  The book light that actually helps you read in the dark: I have had a disastrous relationship with book lights over the years. Many of them have a light that's too narrow... or that isn't bright enough...or that's too bright... or that has an arm that doesn't go out far enough... My nightstand is a graveyard of them. But I saw this one and it seemed promising. Two lights. Even spread. Longer flexible arm. And... It works! Check it out here.  I saw the words 'behemoth bovine' in the headline so I read it: We live in Texas and are surrounded by farms and cattle. We see steer and cows and bulls all the time and there are a few places we can feed and pet them and the kids love it. Over the years we've seen some giants... But nothing like this steer, which stands 6'3" and weighs 1.5 tons.  A sarcastic take on why most of the board games you grew up with kinda suck: I made the mistake the other night of deciding to clean out the kids play closet to get rid of all the broken toys and games and board games missing pieces and when I started looking up new games to get I came across this piece from Noel Murray called "The 10 Worst Family Games that we can't even pretend to enjoy anymore". Fun article and he makes some good points.  A sentence that I'm not sure I agree with but I've thought about since I read it: "The history of ethics is a sad tale of wonderful ideals that nobody can live up to." - Yuval Noah Harari, Sapiens  If you enjoyed this, please SHARE the link below to someone you know and they'll get my FREE E-BOOK, 149 Tremendous Recommendations RIGHT HERE.

- Jon

Reply

or to participate.