Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #45

FINKEL'S FAST FIVE - ISSUE #45 DECEMBER 7th, 2018

My favorite new Twitter follow: In today's ludicrous-speed fast news cycle, where events that may once have dominated the headlines for days last nanoseconds, it's no shock that NASA's feat of launching a state-of-the-art robot off of a spinning and moving object (earth) and safely landing it on another spinning and moving object (mars) roughly 140 million miles away has been nearly forgotten before the mission even started. I highly recommend following the InSight mission on Twitter. The person running the account should win awards. It's clever and interesting every day. Also, awesome photos.  A documentary that I thought was brilliant and funny and sad: I admit that I am very late to the game on this doc. I think it was saved on our DVR for a year... But I finally got around to watching Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind and it was everything I expected it to be. Displayed the genius and the darkness of one of the brightest minds in the history of comedy. Definitely worth watching.  I rarely read fiction but I picked this book up by chance and found myself 20 pages in before putting it down: I picked up Brad Meltzer's book, The Escape Artist, because it seemed to be right in my wheelhouse of stories that I enjoy. Based on real historical themes/facts, exhaustive research on places people don't really know about, and of course, exceptional writing. This book nails all three. Like I said, I found myself flying through pages before I bought it and the pace has only kept up. Halfway through but excellent so far.  Imagine having a note from your doctor that says you have to drink an "indefinite" amount of alcohol: When Winston Churchill came to the United States during the Prohibition in the early 30s, his physician, Dr. Pickhardt, sent him with a note prescribing just that. It's awesome. Great find by Meredith Frost here.  A tremendous and spot-on quote about handshakes from our late President, George H.W. Bush: "It is possible to tell things by a handshake. I like the "looking in the eye" syndrome. It conveys interest. I like the firm, though not bone crushing shake. The bone crusher is trying too hard to "macho it.: The clammy or diffident handshake — fairly or unfairly — get me off to a bad start with a person." - George H.W. Bush, 41st President of the United States  Have a great weekend and if you're shaking hands, do your best not to be clammy or diffident!

Want to give someone an awesome, free E-Book? And let them get the FF5 for free? Send them this link: Fast Five Sign-Up & Free Book.

 - Jon

Reply

or to participate.