• Books & Biceps
  • Posts
  • Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #47 PLUS: The 15 Most Memorable Books I Read in 2018

Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #47 PLUS: The 15 Most Memorable Books I Read in 2018

FINKEL'S FAST FIVE - ISSUE #47 DECEMBER 21st, 2018

This is one of my favorite posts to write and it's also one of my most popular every year. Here's my annual breakdown of...   The 15 Most Memorable Books I Read in 2018: I love books and I love reading and these authors and projects were amazing. We’ve got some of my favorite writers like Candice Millard and Jane Leavy and Jeff Pearlman...mixed in with legends like Stephen King and Seth Godin and Robert Kurson...and the best part of reading, discovering authors you hadn’t read before, in this case (for me), Dave Zirin and Sy Montgomery and Yuval Noah Harari and Brad Meltzer and Mandy Stadtmiller and others who make their debut on this list. There are so many incredible topics, too. From the USFL to Jim Brown, Babe Ruth, Winston Churchill, octopuses, sapiens, The Office, Houdini, Pirates and Astronauts... Hopefully one (or several) of these books bring you a sense of wonder or joy or fun or new knowledge next year. Happy holidays and happy reading! READ MY 15 MOST MEMORABLE BOOKS FROM 2018 HERE  A staggering number of packages (tens of millions) are being sent from Amazon this holiday season: And this piece in the Dallas Morning News takes a peak behind the curtain of a fulfillment center to show the coordination, technology, people and absurd attention to detail that enables customers to do an entire holiday shopping list on their phone and know that all the gifts will get to the right place (mostly) on time. Very interesting read.  One of my favorite comedians of all time, Chris Farley, died 21 years ago this week: David Spade, his best buddy, posted these bloopers from their funniest movie, Tommy Boy. I still know nearly every line in this movie by heart. Enjoy these next four minutes.   I recently read a few articles about how sleep can be disrupted from even the slightest amount of electronic light in your bedroom (security panel, charger light, TV, etc...) and that wearing a sleep mask can keep you from waking up in the middle of the night. I've never really worn a sleep mask in the past, mainly because I didn't think I needed one and, well, I have a big nose and if there's any light in the room, it shoots up through the bottom of the mask. I did some research and found this mask, which is made of cotton, is super light, but also has a soft, adjustable nose piece that fits snuggly around a giant beak like my own. A few nights in and it seems like it's working. At the very least, it'll be great for the airplane.  A tremendous exchange from Tommy Boy that makes me laugh every single time I watch it:  Tommy: [Trying to copy his father's quote] Hey, I'll tell you what. You can get a good look at a butcher's ass by sticking your head up there. But, wouldn't you rather take his word for it?

Customer: [confused] What? I'm failing to make the connection here.  Tommy: No, what I mean is, you can get a good look at a T-bone by sticking your head up a butcher's ass... No, wait. It's gotta be your bull.

- Tommy Boy   Have a great weekend and remember, it's gotta be your bull...   (The "It's gotta be your bull" line is the piece-de-resistance of the whole scene. It's perfect.) 

PS: 'Tis the season to share Finkel's Fast Five  Thank you all so much for reading. I love hearing from you and it's awesome when something in the FF5 helps you out, gives you something new to read or watch or eat, fixes your neck or back or sore eyes, or simply entertains you to start your Friday.  All I ask is that if you're into this newsletter, please share it with someone else you think would like it as well. They'll also get a free E-Book catching them up on 149 recommendations. Send them this link and they're good to go: Fast Five Sign-Up & Free Book   THANKS!  - Jon

Reply

or to participate.