• Books & Biceps
  • Posts
  • Finkel's Fast Five - ISSUE #50 - PLUS a book discount

Finkel's Fast Five - ISSUE #50 - PLUS a book discount

FINKEL'S FAST FIVE - ISSUE #50 January 11th, 2019

A longtime writer for Letterman (who also wrote 22 Jump Street, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, etc..) just admitted an awesome reveal: In a tweet this week, Rodney Rothman said, "Years ago when I wrote for David Letterman we would make these fake Broadway shows and put them on at the end of the show and never tell the audience they were fake. No one ever knew." His twitter thread also reveals the creation of a fake boy band that performed on TRL. Watch the live performance of Standing on the Moon from the fake Broadway play, One Small Step.  It's the 20th anniversary of The Sopranos and uber TV critics Alan Sepinwall and Matt Zoller Seitz do a VERY deep dive on the controversial ending here: This excerpt is from their new book, The Sopranos Sessions, and it is the most thorough, well thought out debate about what the last scene in the diner meant, how it was set up and what we should believe. You can read it on Vulture here.  In my never-ending quest to have an enormous amount of energy around 3pm without taking an enormous amount of caffeine, I tried something called a Sencha Shot: The Sencha Shot comes in a little 6 oz. can and is made by Ito En, a Japanese company that is basically the Goliath of green tea. Much like iocane powder, it is mostly odorless and tasteless (a light, grassy flavor). It has 152mgs of catechin tea antioxidants with only 40mg of caffeine. I bought one. Not sure I'd buy a case, but I liked it. Definitely got a slight boost at the time I crash most. Check it out here.  The fantastic foam rolling routine called "The Leg Flush" that has done wonders for me: My hand is still stitched up so I've been doing a ton of lower-body work (squats, sprints, jump rope, etc.) which has made my legs more sore than normal. I've been foam rolling for years now, but I tend to focus on my back and shoulders while not rolling my legs enough. This 5-exercise routine from Sean Vigue is pretty solid and he walks you through a good rolling sequence.  A tremendous exchange from one of my all-time favorite movies, Big, that I appreciate now that I'm having the same exact conversation with my son: Josh Baskin (Tom Hanks): I'm much better at video hockey. Paul (John Heard): That's not a sport. Josh: It requires hand and eye coordination. Paul: It's not a sport if you don't sweat. Josh: What about golf? It's a sport and you don't sweat. Paul: It's not a sport if you let a machine do all the work. Josh: What about car racing? Paul: Shut up, Baskin.  Have a great weekend and no matter what anyone says, it's not a sport if you don't sweat!  Thank you for reading and as always, any feedback is much appreciated. Reply to this e-mail or write me on Twitter HERE.

- Jon

AND JUST FOR YOU GUYS, GET 20% OFF MY NEW BOOK WHEN YOU PRE-ORDER TODAY! JUST CLICK ON THE BOOK:

Reply

or to participate.