Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #54

FINKEL'S FAST FIVE - ISSUE #54 February 8th, 2019

1) When you combine standing up through the roof of a convertible while driving AND 135 lb. military presses (two of my favorite things), then you have my attention: I don't know how I never heard of this bodybuilder/gymnast/IG dude named Jujimufu, but a friend mentioned him to me a while back and I just got around to seeing what he's up to - and standing presses out of a moving car are the least crazy thing he does. He's like a mix between the Ultimate Warrior and The Three Stooges. Watch the car stunt here.  2) You know those stupid BuzzFeed quizzes that pop up in your social media feeds like "What Kind of Gatorade Flavor Are You?" or something (I'd be Citrus Cooler, for the record): Turns out that A) they generated about $300 million in revenue last year and B) they were written by a 19-year-old for free. Considering all the recent media layoffs, it's an astounding story of where revenue-driving online content comes from. The Q&A with the quiz maker brought up some unique points. Read it here.  3) Longtime FF5 readers know that if I'm a sucker for one thing, it's a new end cap at a store with a protein bar I haven't tried yet. This week's entry into the "is this a protein bar or candy bar" sweepstakes comes from a company called WOLO WanderSnacks. These bars are designed for frequent travelers so they have a ton of antioxidants, Zinc, Vitamin C and Turmeric along with 15g of protein. The Peanut Butter one I bought tasted like a rice crispy treat with peanut butter frosting. Not bad. Check'em out.  4) I am almost all the way through this long form, exhaustively-reported piece on whether or not James Brown was murdered and why many people are requesting a new investigation : To be blunt, this piece is a monster. But it is also well written and to borrow a writing schtick from the Boston Globe's legendary Bob Ryan, it is capital 'J' journalism work. If you have any interest in James Brown or exceptional reporting or both, take some time and get through it here.  5) I realize we're going back-to-back weekly quotes from a Robinson (though this week is Frank rather than Jackie). I have always liked this quote about determination from Frank Robinson, who passed away this week: "Pitchers did me a favor when they knocked me down. It made me more determined. I wouldn't let that pitcher get me out. They say you can't hit if you're on your back, but I didn't hit on my back, I got up." - Frank Robinson  Have a great weekend and if a pitcher knocks you on your back - get up and keep swinging!  Thanks for all the great feedback, everyone. It is MUCH appreciated. Reply to this e-mail with any ides or write me on Twitter HERE.

- Jon

   GET 20% OFF MY NEW BOOK WHEN YOU PRE-ORDER TODAY! CLICK THE GRAPHIC BELOW:

Reply

or to participate.