💪Finkel's Fast Five - Issue 87

ISSUE #87 - September 27th, 2019

ONE

MOVIES - Teasle: "Are you telling me 200 men against your boy is a no-win situation for us?" Trautman: "You send that many, don't forget one thing... A good supply of body bags."  That is my favorite bad-ass exchange in Rambo: First Blood, which I watched again this week to get ready for Rambo: Last Blood in the theaters. First Blood is available for a few bucks on YouTube, but more importantly, I found 12 minutes of deleted scenes for free right here! The scenes are reportedly from the very first Canadian VHS release of the movie and they are not on any of the newer DVDs. Like all deleted scenes, half of them absolutely should have been cut. However, the other half contain more tough-guy lines from Trautman (at about the 4:19 mark), which is definitely a good thing. My favorite: "This guy is a heart attack!!!"

TWO

HEALTH - You all know by now I enjoy my matcha green tea. But did you know that I started pumping it up a bit with Laird Hamilton's Superfood Creamer? Oh yeah, this is next level matcha stuff here I'm about to lay on you.  My wife and I have been adding Laird's regular creamer to our coffee/tea for years, but as much as I love it, I wanted a little flavor change and decided to go outside of my normal flavor zone (or palette for you food snobs) and try this one: Turmeric. Yes, turmeric. If you like Indian food, which I don't, actually, you've probably heard of it. Either way, it's been used for thousands of years for its anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidants powers (I know, not hard science) so I gave it a shot. In short: I like it. It has a slightly zingy flavor but it's surprisingly refreshing when it's really hot. See for yourself.

THREE

MEMORY - How's your memory? Mine sucks. Or at least it selectively sucks. I can still recite Point Break nearly line for line, but if I shake hands and meet three new people I've forgotten the first person's name by the time I say the last person's name. If you're like me, you're not alone.  In fact, none of us are alone. We're actually "the norm" when it comes to memory ability. My old pal Brett McKay, who founded one of my favorite sites, ArtofManliness.com, interviewed memory champion Nelson Dellis this week and the tips he gives are truly helpful, as in, there are things you can do right now to start improving your recall. You can listen to it here.

FOUR

FITNESS - I'm always on the lookout for fellow meatheads who post strongman/cool/unique workouts and who, most importantly, know what they're talking about.  One of my new favorite Instagram follows is Josh Bryant (AKA, JoshStrength.com). Crazy story here: a good buddy of mine who worked at Muscle & Fitness with me, who is now a cop and an overall inspiring dude (shout out to my man Eric) posted a video mentioning that he was doing a workout by Josh Bryant and when I looked it up, it was the same guy who I've met here in Texas (he's a friend's brother-in-law). I knew he was a trainer, but didn't know how accomplished he was and how awesome his posts are. Right up my alley. Check this one out, where he chucks an 80lb. medicine ball over his head and then pushes a half-ton of weight in a wheelbarrow before sprinting. That's quality meathead content right there.

FIVE

AN EXCELLENT QUOTE ON STRENGTH

“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, some are strong at the broken places.”  — Ernest Hemingway

Thanks for reading! - Jon  Questions? Ideas? Comments? E-mail me (reply to this e-mail) or hit me on Twitter HERE.   And don't forget to FORWARD THE FF5 to a friend!   ***BIG PROJECT ANNOUNCEMENT COMING NEXT WEEK... STAY TUNED!!!***

Reply

or to participate.