Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #9

March 30th, 2018

The workout that killed me this week: I use the word 'killed' appropriately because this finishing routine is called 'Death By Slam Ball'. It seems relatively simple. You take a slam ball and slam it to the ground 1 time on minute one, then 2 times in minute two, then 3 times in minute three, 4 times in minute four and so on without stopping... I have a 20lb slam ball and by minute 15 my legs felt like wilted spinach. This is what I looked like in my driveway at the meathead hour of 5:15am committing slam ball suicide.  This is a high-protein new snack that saved me when I was starving during some loooooong meetings this week: The Peanut Butter Perfect Bar is basically really tasty peanut-butter molded into a bar, wrapped and put in the fridge. They have 17g of protein and yes, a decent amount of sugar, but they were good and hit the spot. Full disclosure: I eat 2 bars at once.  An inexpensive purchase that's already paid for itself: Our dog, Mr. P, turned nine this weekend and we wanted a family photo to commemorate the occasion. Fortunately, this smart phone tripod by Yoozon I bought for $20 arrived last week and it's awesome. Couldn't be easier to use and got the whole crew in the big guy's birthday pic.  My favorite new radio station (and best named station ever): SiriusXM and LL Cool J just launched... wait for it... Rock the Bells Radio. It. Is. Phenomenal. I was a HUGE fan of backspin and this seems to be in the same spirit, but with a little of LL's style and his era's personality mixed in. Ludacris was a guest DJ on Day 2 and put out a sick playlist.   A tremendously written sentence I can't get out of my head: "Here was a champion before he closed his hand into a fist. The boy's gumption was like the full steam of a locomotive. Plus he was a born liar." - The Real McCoy by Darin Strauss. These are the first few sentences in the book. Fantastic start.

Have a great weekend and hopefully your gumption is like the full steam of a locomotive!  Make sure you forward this to any friends who you think would enjoy it. Use the link below. Thanks!  You can sign up for and read previous FF5 Issues HERE  - Jon

Reply

or to participate.