💪Finkel's Fast Five - Issue 91

ISSUE #91 - October 25th, 2019

ONE

MOVIES - Remember when you'd be at Blockbuster Video and you'd grab the 'New Release" that you went to the store to get and then you'd stroll down the aisles looking to uncover a random movie in a genre that you like with actors that you love that you hadn't seen yet? Almost like you were hunting for cinematic treasure?  I LOVED doing that and fortunately you can do a version of it by scrolling through movie selections on Prime and Netflix. This week I stumbled across a high-powered (but confusing) bank robber/detective movie called Marauders, starring Bruce Willis, Dave Bautista, Chris Merloni and Vince from Entourage. The film was high-concept, ambitious, had some sharp dialogue, decent bank heist scenes and...a zillion plot holes and questions. I enjoyed it, but I'm also not saying it's good, if that makes sense. Mainly, I want you to watch it so we can discuss the last 15 minutes. Here's the trailer. Also, here's Roger Ebert's demolition of a review.

TWO

ENERGY- How many cups of coffee/tea do you drink in a day? Or do you take 5-Hour-Energy or drink Monster or Rock Star? Have you ever tried taking a pre-workout in the middle of the afternoon with no workout in sight?  Up until recently, the last option would have seemed dumb. However, after doing some research on why many of us suffer afternoon energy dips, I decided to swap out my afternoon cup of tea (or occasionally an ice coffee) for a basic BCAA/caffeine mix...and it's been a smart move. I bought Optimum Nutrition's AMIN.O. Energy and the grape one is awesome. It has less caffeine than coffee, tastes kind of like Kool-Aid and has a nice amino boost. It's refreshing, is what I'm saying. If you're sick of coffee at 3pm, try this stuff.

THREE

GYM ART - Jean Claude Van Damme posted one of the greatest pieces of art ever to sit at the entrance to any room any where.  In his case, this glorious bronze statue welcomes people to his garage and features his signature 180 degree split. Currently trying to figure out if I have room in my garage gym for it. Stay tuned.

FOUR

THROWBACK - I've noticed a pattern with my throwback Thursday posts. The dorkier/nerdier/lamer I look in the photos, the more you all enjoy them and have fun ripping on me... Lucky for you, I will never run out of these kinds of photos because, well, that's pretty much all I have from my childhood.  I posted my Little League close-up photo this week and let's just say you wouldn't want to run into this guy in a dark alley at night if he had his baseball bat, AKA, 'Captive' with him. Enjoy it, my friends.

FIVE

AN EXCELLENT QUOTE FROM ALMOST FAMOUS

"The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what you share with someone else when you're uncool.”   — Lester Bangs (Philip Seymour Hoffman

DON'T FORGET TO SHARE WITH US!!!  Have you come across something that would be perfect for the Fast Five? Send it to me and I'll include it in next week's e-mail... We're all in this together so let's find cool shit and pass it along!

AND DON'T FORGET TO PRE-ORDER MY NEW BOOK:

My goal for writing it was simple:  To write the first ever top-to-bottom rundown of our fittest, fattest, strongest, weakest, most athletic and occasionally pathetic presidents. If you think of yourself as a US History buff. If the presidents fascinate you. If you're a sports fan. If you're a bit of a meathead like me, then this book isn't just for you... it's for us. Enjoy!   PRE-ORDER PDF HERE  KINDLE HERE  And paperbacks will be available very soon!!!!

Reply

or to participate.