• Books & Biceps
  • Posts
  • 💪Huge News for My FF5 Readers Who Are Writers

💪Huge News for My FF5 Readers Who Are Writers

Ever since I started speaking at journalism schools, interviewing young writers to hire & mentoring writers, I've wanted to do this:  Create a course to help them do the one thing colleges don't teach: how to earn $$$  With lockdowns and quarantines and legacy media firings happening all at once, I've had a record number of writers reach out to me about how to make money freelancing either as a side hustle for extra cash or as a full-time, flexible, no boss career move.  And I am 100% for it and here to help. I can totally sympathize.  I started my writing career without a single contact at a local or national online publication, blog, magazine or newspaper. By age 25, I was writing national cover stories for major magazines, had a deal for an NBA book series and I'd go on to write on staff or as a freelancer for GQ, Men's Health, The New York Times, Yahoo! Sports, Men's Fitness, Muscle & Fitness, ComedyCentral.com, Men's Journal, USA Today's HoopsHype and dozens more.

On the flip side, I have spent time as a publisher, Editor-in-Chief and Senior Editor at these and other publications and I've hired and interviewed hundreds of writers and assigned too many stories to count.

Over the years I have been taking notes on what has worked best from a writer perspective in terms of how to get work...and also from an editorial perspective, in terms of what editors are looking for in freelancers.

This course is a culmination of those notes, as well as feedback I have received from students after guest speaking at a variety of journalism schools, mentoring young writers and even questions I get asked regularly on Twitter.  The course is called:  Journalism Jewels: How to Pitch, Write and Sell Articles to Any Publication to Earn More Money  It is a 90-minute video as well as a 32-page e-book/PDF. It's everything I've got.

You will learn:

- How to Figure Out What You Should be Writing

- The Difference Between Writing What You Know and Writing What You Read

- What a writing talent stack is

- How to discover where your subject matter expertise lies

- How to present yourself online including…

- 5 Tips to Craft Your Online Presence

- Inside tips on what an editor is thinking when they first meet you via e-mail

- Foolproof ways to generate ‘sellable ideas’

- The Three Main Types of Accepted Pitches

- The secret characteristics of a compelling story idea and pitch

- How to lay the groundwork for your first pitch to a large publication or your dream publication

- The Easy-to-Follow Two-Part Strategy to Build Credibility in Any Genre

- How to Meticulously Prepare Your Pitch

- The Two ‘Ps’ of Pitching to Know Before Approaching any Publication

- A complete sample pitch that you can use as a template

- How to Handle an Accepted Article so You Set up Future Work

- The 4 Ways to Capitalize on an Accepted Pitch

- The 4 Most Common Forms of a Rejected Pitch

- How to Maximize a Rejection and Benefit from It

- An Explanation of Typical Ways Publications Pay

- Your Three-Step Plan to Make More Money with Each Publication

This is everything your journalism school professor or intern advisors or writing teachers never told you about how to become a working, paid professional freelancer.

It’s a career’s worth of advice in one seminar and if you follow this, you will sell articles and you will earn money as a writer.

I know not every FF5 reader is a writer, so if you're still reading this, then you're still interested and I have great news.  The course is 50% OFF just for my Finkel's Fast Five readers and is on sale for $40.  ORDER 'JOURNALISM JEWELS' RIGHT HERE AND GET THE ENTIRE COURSE TODAY.

My number one goal is to help you earn money as a writer. We'll get it done.  Feel free to reach out to me directly with any questions.

- Jon

Reply

or to participate.