• Books & Biceps
  • Posts
  • đź’ŞLive from Inside the Bomb Cyclone, Gerald Ford Big Pimpin', Ski Patrol 30 years later and...

đź’ŞLive from Inside the Bomb Cyclone, Gerald Ford Big Pimpin', Ski Patrol 30 years later and...

ISSUE #59 - March 15th, 2019

ONE

PERFORMANCE - Lest anyone question my commitment to the FF5, this current issue is being written from inside the heart of the Bomb Cyclone in Beaver Creek, Colorado, and to paraphrase a line from Denzel in Training Day, the Bomb Cyclone… ain’t got nothin’… on me!!  Why? Well, with the temps in the twenties and a foot of snow dropping every day, I have been comfortably carving powder down the slopes because I made a brilliant purchase of the warmest, most comfortable cold gear ever…all for twenty bucks. No joke. These Lapasa lightweight thermals I found on Amazon have been phenomenal. Smooth. No itching. Soft. And most importantly - super warm.

TWO

 PRESIDENTS - Whenever I spend time in a new town I like to see who all the big buildings or parks or amphitheaters are named after to get a taste of who the local heroes are (nerdy, I know).  While in Beaver Creek I learned that President Ford, who was an excellent skier, bought one of the first ski lodges in the area, then upgraded to what essentially became a luxury Winter White House, complete with the Presidential Seal, a lap swimming pool and billiard room. The performing arts center at Beaver Creek is named after Ford and here’s a slide show of his unbelievable ski lodge here.

THREE

BOOKS - Before Steven Spielberg turned Jaws into a blockbuster movie, Peter Benchley wrote the bestselling book.  I never read Jaws, but Benchley wrote several other books in addition to the aforementioned masterpiece, one of them being White Shark, which caught my eye on a shelf at the lodge we stayed at this week. I picked it up, cruised through the first few pages and before I knew it, I stayed up late two nights in a row to finish it. Fast, hugely researched, and a very different read than I expected with several memorable characters and some brilliant, suspense-filled scenes. It came out a while ago so you can find a paperback for a few bucks if you’re interested.

FOUR

NOSTALGIA - Back in 1990 a little-known comedy called Ski Patrol hit the theaters with no A or B or C or D-list stars, but for kids directly in the target demo, namely goofy 12-16 year olds who dreamed of being ski instructors (me), it became an iconic comedy.  I hadn’t thought about the movie in twenty-five years until I found myself discussing it with a stranger, and we both reminisced about the “famous” skiing montage on the mountain, complete with insane jumps, people taking inner tubes and pool rafts down the slopes and, of course, a great song. I’d say the scene 40% holds up, but for those of you who know what I’m talking about, these two minutes bring back some great memories.

FIVE

A TREMENDOUS QUOTE:  "The best and fastest way to learn a sport is to watch and imitate a champion.”  - Jean Claude Killy

 PS - THANK YOU FOR SHARING THE FF5! If you haven't here's how:  STEP 1: CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW STEP 2: SHARE THE FF5 WITH OTHER CHAMPIONS STEP 3: YOU'RE AUTOMATICALLY ENTERED TO WIN SOME COOL STUFF (BOOKMARKS, BOOKS, BASEBALL CARDS AND MORE!) CLICK HERE TO SHARE

Thank you so much for reading. You are all awesome. And I can't thank you enough for forwarding this along to your pals. And if you haven't done that yet, what are you waiting for???   As always, e-mail me (reply to this e-mail) or hit me on Twitter HERE with any questions, comments or ideas for the FF5!  

Reply

or to participate.