• Books & Biceps
  • Posts
  • NEW: Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #12 - The Sandlot, Teddy Roosevelt, New Protein Bars and More...

NEW: Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #12 - The Sandlot, Teddy Roosevelt, New Protein Bars and More...

Finkel's Fast Five - Issue #12

April 20th, 2018

My favorite new word and napping strategy: The word: Nappuccino. That would be 'nap' plus 'cappuccino'. What is it? It's a scientifically proven method of getting the greatest nap of all time by knocking back caffeine right before you doze off. Don't believe me? Here's a link to download a free 5-Step Guide on how to do it right.  I'm a sucker for protein bars and this is a good one I just tried: I admit to having very little will power when it comes to walking by an end cap or a display by a register and there's a shiny new 'healthy' snack to try. This bar that sucked me in this time is called a Wella Bar and the flavor I bought was Peanut Cacao. Had 11g of protein and more sugar than I'd like, but it was filling and tasted better than most bars like it.  A cool trip down movie memory lane: This year marks the 25th anniversary of one of my favorite sports movies ever, The Sandlot. While researching the movie for a new podcast I'm co-hosting, I came across this great oral history of the movie by a friend of mine, Yahoo! Sports baseball writer, Mike Oz. Lots of great nuggets about the beloved film there.  How I keep my meathooks dry now that the garage gym is hot: It's right around this time of year when my makeshift garage gym starts to get pretty steamy in the mornings. Couple that with the fact that I sweat like an animal and I decided to do some research on how to chalk up. I came across Black Widow Spider Chalk and it's awesome. It's a liquid that turns into a powder on your hands. One bottle lasts about a year (at least for me). Highly recommend it as you can see in this picture here.  A tremendously written sentence I can't get out of my head: "His coat unbuttoned to reveal a bloodstained shirt, and his speech held high so that all could see the two sinister-looking holes made by the assailant's bullet, Roosevelt had shouted, "It takes more than that to kill a bull moose!" - Candice Millard, The River of Doubt  Have a great weekend and feel free to shout, "It takes more than that to kill a bull moose!" to anyone who tries to shoot you.  If you're loving this newsletter please share it with your friends.

- Jon

Reply

or to participate.