• Books & Biceps
  • Posts
  • 💪Remembering Nomar, the 3-point shooting savant, Mel Gibson & Vince Vaughn, Thomas Edison and more...

💪Remembering Nomar, the 3-point shooting savant, Mel Gibson & Vince Vaughn, Thomas Edison and more...

ISSUE #62 - April 5th, 2019

ONE

MOVIES - What if I told you there was a new film starring a disgruntled, gruff Mel Gibson playing a detective with Vince Vaughn as his partner and Don Johnson as their boss?  Is that a movie you'd be interested in? Well, it exists and it's called Dragged Across Concrete and it just came out online and on pay-per-view and it's uniquely shot and cleverly written and really good. The noir-feel, plus the slow burn to the climax and the Gibson/Vaughn patter are definitely worth a few bucks to enjoy it on your couch. You can watch the trailer here.

TWO

 HOOPS - Do you know what the record is for the most three-point shots made in a row in one minute? My unofficial, personal record is 6. The Guinness World Record up until recently was 24.  That's because Anthony Miracola just shattered the record and hit 31 straight threes. Yes, he had someone handing him balls to facilitate the shooting...but c'mon... 31 straight! The video is mesmerizing for several reasons, the first of which is that almost every shot is dead center through the bottom of the net (the guy is a machine). The second reason is for the "referee" in the background (middle of the screen) who signals every shot as 'good' and raises his hands. It's high comedy. Here's the video of the feat. It's one minute long.

THREE

CAFFEINE - Longtime readers of the FF5 know that I like tea...and in particular Matcha green tea. I have a few brands that I rotate between (Tenzo Tea is my favorite) but I'm always down to try a new one.  This week I got my first package from Matcha Wellness and gave it a shot. It gets bonus points for its hyper green color and decent aroma, but it had a little grassier taste than a few others I use. Feel free to rip on me for using this phrase and pretending like I have any idea what I'm talking about when it comes to tea, but I'd say this is a good "starter matcha", if you're interested. You can check it out here.

FOUR

NOSTALGIA - With Major League Baseball back in full swing and the discussion about how to pick up the speed of the game once again being discussed, I keep wondering how one man in particular would handle being told he had to speed up his routine.  That man is none other than one of my all-time favorite players, Nomahhhhhhhhhh!!!! Nomar Garciaparra hasn't stepped into a batters box in ten years, and it's been over two decades since his Rookie of the Year performance in 1997... But nothing, and I mean nothing, tops Nomar's batting routine. The glove adjusting and wrist touching and toe tapping are legendary. I can picture it and imitate it perfectly to this day, but for those who haven't seen it yet and those who miss it, here is his entire routine played back-to-back-to-back like Tom Emanski's title teams.

FIVE

A TREMENDOUS QUOTE ABOUT PERSEVERANCE:  "Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.”  - Thomas Edison

As always, e-mail me (reply to this e-mail) or hit me on Twitter HERE with any questions, comments or ideas for the FF5!  OFFICIAL NEWS: MARK CUBAN ENDORSES OUR LIFE OF DAD BOOK!!!  Mark Cuban has agreed to endorse our upcoming Life of Dad book... So, you know, we've got the Dallas Mavericks and Shark Tank crew behind us, which is amazing. Check out his endorsement blurb below and please, PRE-ORDER THE BOOK by CLICKING ON THE IMAGE: 

Reply

or to participate.