• Books & Biceps
  • Posts
  • 💪Stallone as The Terminator, a Golf Swing Koepka Would Envy, Favreau's Chef Show, Carlton on Kids and more...

💪Stallone as The Terminator, a Golf Swing Koepka Would Envy, Favreau's Chef Show, Carlton on Kids and more...

ISSUE #72 - June 14th, 2019

ONE

MOVIES - Have you ever wondered what it would have been like if Sly Stallone played the Terminator instead of Arnold? Would you watch the movie over again if AI technology became available to make that happen? How would it sound if Sly said, "Hasta la vista, baby"?  If you answered yes to any of those questions, then this new YouTube channel called Ctrl Shift Face, which is using AI-assisted DeepFake technology to make these types of things happen, is for you. I'm not gonna lie... It's mesmerizing and weird and scary and also...kind of awesome. I'd love to see the reverse of this and watch an Arnold-faced Rocky defeat Drago. Here are a few videos.

TWO

 GOLF - This is not a newsflash to anyone who has played with me, but I mostly suck at golf. I enjoy the hell out of playing and I don't embarrass myself (some of the time) but in one round I typically have more bad slices than a late night pizza joint (channeling my inner Rick Reilly).  However, since it's summer and I hope to play a few times a month, I found a book that seems to teach a simple enough swing with a simple enough method that even a hacker like me could maybe figure it out. The book is called The Single Plane Golf Swing and it teaches Moe Norman's swing, which Tiger Woods said is one of two truly great golf swings. Once I'm done I'm sure mine will be the third. You can read up on it here.

THREE

FOOD - I loved Jon Favreau's movie, Chef, and I've enjoyed hearing him talk about food and making food on several podcasts since. It's almost as if his new show, The Chef Show, was made exclusively for me. Alas, it was not, so you can enjoy it as well.  Now, I admit, every show is not a slam dunk, BUT, the episode where he and Robert Downey Jr. and the kid who played Spider-Man and the producers of the Avengers movies eat about $5,000 of food in a restaurant in Atlanta while 'dishing' (get it) on behind-the-scenes stuff from the films is pretty awesome. Here's the show.

FOUR

WRITING - I really don't know how to characterize this next Fathers Day story/Twitter thread by the artist known as the Sixth Form Poet, but it takes a few unexpected turns and is really funny and sweet and well worth your three minutes.  I don't want to give away any more of it because it really should be read cold. Just stick with it (it's not too long) and I promise you'll be entertained. Here you go.

FIVE

A MOTIVATIONAL FATHER'S DAY QUOTE:  “The drive to be great has always driven me in everything that I do. I understand you are not going to win everything. I understand that you very rarely win...but if you are not trying to be the best, then you are not giving it your all. That is something that I feel is really important to teach my kids." - Alfonso Ribeiro, Actor, Singer, TV Host and Carlton from The Fresh Prince  This is one of my favorite quotes from our Life of Dad book and I thought it was an appropriate one to share. Happy Father's Day to all the dads reading this. Enjoy your Sunday!

Reply

or to participate.